HipHopDX – Though the entire Donda vs. Certified Lover Boy album vendetta saga has unfolded in ways few of us expected, the time has finally upon us all.

With Kanye West sneaking in his feature-heavy masterwork this past Sunday (August 28), Drake is afforded free roam in this week’s edition of HipHopDX’s New Music Friday coverage.

Additional projects include the fourth installment of Big Draco’s anything-but-earnest mixtape series, two separate extended play offerings from Shy Glizzy and DJ Gutta Butta and Slimmy B along with a jam-packed film soundtrack featuring Rick Ross, Saweetie, 21 Savage and more.

Dive into the full list of releases from Friday (September 3), below.

Drake – Certified Lover Boy

Whether or not we are all aware of it, this Drake release much is different than any of his previous albums, including his blockbuster 2018 Scorpion project.

Rather than battling the narrative of whether or not he can best himself once again, the 6 God is also going head-to-head with the son of God, Yeezy, while also seemingly living rent-free in the “Jail” MC’s head.

Taking the countless jabs in-stride by following Kanye’s juvenile doxing prank with a calculated worldwide, multi-city guest feature billboard campaign and a coveted Lil Wayne co-sign, Drake delivers Certified Lover Boy, his 12th album drowned in a deafening buzz with more focus and poise than ever.

The 21-track project includes features from JAY-Z, 21 Savage, Future, Kid Cudi, Young Thug, Lil Durk and more.

(Check back for the updated version with the album stream once it drops).

Soulja Boy – Swag 4

After taking his Donda snub to the chin, while also publicly berating Ye and challenging him to a boxing match, Soulja Boy has taken matters into his own hands.

For his Swag 4 offering, the man who taught Drake everything he knows gets on his “Shawn Carter” and bosses up his own sound across 14-tracks, further championing his SODMG Records imprint from solely the hype of Big Draco’s music.

Even tho the is only one feature on Swag 4 from G$ Lil Ronnie, Soulja Boy did get the co-sign from Drake earlier this week, which is almost like the same thing.

Shy Glizzy – Don’t Feed The Sharks (EP)

Even though D.C. rap veteran Shy Glizzy is all about uniting the DMV area Hip Hop scene, he is still watching out for predators threatening the city’s delicate musical ecosystem.

Following his full-format 2020 Young Jefe 3 album, Shy Glizzy hops on a new wave by delivering his 18-track Don’t Feed The Sharks projects.

Guest appearances include verses from Pressa, No Savage, Goo Glizzy, 3 Glizzy and more.

88 Rising & Various Artists – Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings: The Album

Burgeoning Pan-Asian record label 88Rising is reaching new heights in 2021.

With robust plans set for their upcoming Head In The Clouds Festival this November, 88Rising enters the Marvel Universe to deliver Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings: The Album film soundtrack via Interscope and Marvel Music/Hollywood Records.

The project, which was executive produced Sean Miyashiro and 88rising, includes 18-songs and features from Anderson .Paak, Rich Brian, Swae Lee, Jhené Aiko, Saweetie, Guapdad 4000 and countless other artists.

DJ Gutta Butta & Slimmy B – All Nett (EP)

If it is going to be left up to DJ Gutta Butta and Slimmy B to reaffirm the one-of-a-kind talent thriving in Vallejo, then the Bay Area is going to be well represented.

After debuting their Icewear Vezzo-anchored “Shit Talking” release last month, DJ Gutta Butta and Slimmy B return with the full 6-track All Net EP including features from BandGang Lonnie, Daboii, Lil Bean and MBnel.


New Music Friday - New Singles From Meek Mill + Lil Uzi Vert, Bobby Shmurda, SoFaygo, Anderson .Paak + More

A light and tight list of Honorable Mentions completes this week’s dialed-in lineup and includes projects from Duckwrth, Big30, Lil Wop, Usain Bolt, the newly re-released Romeo Must Die soundtrack, Asylum Records’ new signee Pasto Flocco.

There’s also new music from Lil Duval and Boosie Badazz, Ralo featuring T.I. and 2 Chainz, NHale, Lou From Paradise, RRTommy and more.

Also, peep this week’s New Music Friday Singles list featuring new releases from Meek Mill and Lil Uzi Vert, Bobby Shmurda, JPEGMAFIA, Anderson .Paak + more.

Stay up-to-date with the latest music releases here.