Hong Kong rapper Haysen Cheng waxes nostalgic in his latest North Point Demos, Vol.1 EP, released on Friday (September 24).

“[It] was a compilation of individual songs I have released with music videos already in a series,” the rapper shared with HipHopDX Asia. Thematically, the EP was based on Cheng’s memories from his hometown, visually executed by local production house HEYBAVIBES. According to a press statement, the visual direction was inspired by Hong Kong film auteur Wong Kar-wai.

Additionally, the 8-track Mandarin- and English-language EP is Cheng’s way of “trying to prove himself as a newcomer.” North Point Demos, Vol.1 follows 2019’s Durags & Chopsticks.

Check out the tracklist:

  1. Last Met
  2. The Count of Monte Cristo
  3. Star Ferry ft. Skip Waiters
  4. Survival of the Fittest
  5. Grey Clouds ft. DIZIWASTRIPPY
  6. Vivid as Ever
  7. Second Guess
  8. Past Due ft. SALES

Stream the EP via Spotify below: