Before illustrious beatsmith J Dilla passed away in 2006, Young RJ served as his intern and also crafted beats for Dilla’s crew Slum Village. Now, RJ has delivered his debut solo album, Blaq Royalty, which features Hip Hop notables like Boldy James, Guilty Simpson, Pete Rock, Statik Selektah and Joyner Lucas.

“It is written ‘Change is the Only True Constant,'” RJ said in a press release. ‘My debut album, Blaq Royalty, reflects change and growth for me musically.”

Speaking with HipHopDX, the official Slum Village member explained his decision to do socio-political cuts like “Issues” featuring BJ The Chicago Kid.

“It’s diverse,” he said. “Of course, I have my songs that talk about what’s going on because it’s inevitable. It wouldn’t be right for me not to catch on with what’s going on in the last year or two years with the police killings and shooting unarmed blacks. Obama’s now gone, so what’s the next excuse that people are going to put on the plate for issues that the U.S. is dealing with? So of course, I’ma have those things that I’m touching on.

“Also, I have girl records on there that Slum are known for creating,” he continues. “I have stuff to party to. I’m expressing all facets of life, from relationships to partying, in my own way. And [I’m] just having fun with the music. I feel like that’s what it’s about. I’m not trying to follow no trend or what people are doing, I’m just expressing and whatever comes out that’s what it is.”

Check out the Blaq Royalty album stream, cover art and tracklist below.

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 8.43.53 PM
  1. Closer To God
  2. Wait f. Pete Rock & BOLDY JAMES
  3. Issues f. BJ The Chicago Kid
  4. It Ain’t Nothin
  5. Motion f. Joyner Lucas & Earlly Mac
  6. Exotic
  7. One Time
  8. Right Now
  9. Low Key
  10. Drop It f. Supakine
  11. Huh f. Daru Jones
  12. Shine f. Guilty Simpson & Drey Skonie