Can Damian Lillard make the jump from NBA superstar to rap sensation?

Going under the name of Dame D.O.L.L.A., the 26-year-old MC released his debut album, The Letter O, today (October 21). The Portland Trail Blazers point guard enlists Lil Wayne, Juvenile, Raphael Saadiq, Marsha Ambrosius and Jamie Foxx for the 12-track project.

Lillard went on Twitter to share further details about his first LP, including revealing that The Letter O is named after the places that made him. He grew up in Oakland, California, went to college at Weber State University in Ogden, Utah and was drafted to play professional basketball by the Portland Trail Blazers, where he has spent four years living in Oregon. He also says that The Letter O contains all clean lyrics.

Many NBA players have tried their hand at rap. Shaquille O’Neal went platinum with his 1994 Shaq Diesel LP. Allen Iverson had a great potential in his musical career before he scrapped his debut album in 2001 at the warning of then-commissioner David Stern who emphasized a family friendly image for the league.

HipHopDX | Rap & Hip Hop News | Ad Placeholder



Stream Dame D.O.L.L.A.’s The Letter O album above and check out the cover art and tracklist below.

Damian Lillar aka Dame DOLLA "The Letter O" album cover art
  1. Bill Walton
  2. Wasatch Front
  3. Growth Spurt f. Dupre
  4. Misguided
  5. Thank You f. Marsha Ambrosius, Brookfield Duece & Danny from Sobrante
  6. Plans f. Jamie Foxx
  7. Legacy f. Juvenile & Danny from Sobrante
  8. Loyal to the Soil f. Lil Wayne
  9. Roll Call f. Brookfield Duece
  10. Pillow Talk f. Manny Lotus
  11. Baggage f. Adrian Marcel
  12. Hero f. Raphael Saadiq [Bonus Track]