Armani Caesar’s Griselda Records debut The Liz was supposed to drop on Friday (August 21), but the album has been postponed out of respect for the late DJ Shay. After Shay passed away this week, Griselda made the decision to hold off on releasing the LP as originally scheduled.

“Hearts are heavy across the entire Griselda family right now as you may know,” the label announced via Instagram. “With that said, as most of you know judging by the incredible response of support & anticipation for @armanicaesar’s GRISELDA RECORDS DEBUT ALBUM ‘The Liz’ was due out 8/21. We regret to inform you, that this album is postponed and will not be released tonight at midnight. We will reveal the new release date as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience during these uncertain times.”

Shay, whose real name was Demetrius Robinson, was a longtime collaborator of the Griselda crew and an influential figure in the Buffalo Hip Hop scene. He worked with Westside Gunn, Conway The Machine and Benny The Butcher long before their rise to fame.



Caesar had extensive history with Shay too, originally signing with him in 2009. The late DJ coined her rap moniker, recorded her for the first time at his studio and put together her initial mixtapes.

Although a new release date for The Liz hasn’t been set, Caesar has said the album will be dedicated to Shay.

“He believed in my talent long before anybody else knew my name,” she noted.



Westside Gunn & Benny The Butcher Mourn DJ Shay's Death

Caesar’s The Liz includes collaborations with Westside, Conway and Benny. The LP features production by DJ Premier, 808 Mafia, Camoflauge Monk, JR Swiftz, Animoss, Denny Laflare, Bone8 and STLNDRMS.

View the cover art and tracklist for Caesar’s Griselda debut below.

1. Sissy Intro
2. Countdown
3. Mac 10s For Everybody f. Westside Gunn
4. The Liz
5. Gucci Casket f. Conway The Machine
6. Drill-A-Rama f. Benny The Butcher
7. Simply Done f. Benny The Butcher
8. Yum Yum
9. Palm Angles
10. Ginger Rothstein
11. Mani Moves Freestyle (Bonus Track)