Los Angeles, CA – Steve Lacy, best known as the iPhone-producing guitarist of Grammy-nominated band The Internet, dropped his debut album Friday (May 24), titled Apollo XXI. The LP is complete with 12 songs that intersect between funk and R&B.

On his Prince-inspired single “Playground,” Lacy disclosed to Zane Lowe on Beats 1 that he played every instrument on the song. “I think this was in my Prince phase, where I was all Prince, but I also have my Dirty Projectors phase in there,” he states.

The Fader touted the project saying “(Apollo XXI) is one of the most anticipated releases of the year.” The 20-year-old musician is also a revered producer and songwriter working with industry heavyweights such as Kendrick Lamar, J. Cole, Mac Miller, Solange, and others.

The Compton native threw a party in his hometown in celebration of the release. His inaugural album was released by 3qtr, who also collaborates with Kanye West, Pharrell, and Odd Future.

Check out Apollo XXI album steam, cover art, and tracklist below.

View this post on Instagram

Apollo XXI coming May 24!!!!! here’s the cover(s)

A post shared by Steve (@steve.lacy) on

  1.  Only If
  2. Like me (feat. DAISY)
  3. Playground
  4. Basement Jack
  5. Guide
  6. Lay Me Down
  7. Hate CD
  8. In Lust We Trust
  9. Love 2 Fast
  10. Amandla’s Interlude
  11. N Side
  12. Outro Freestyle/4ever