A collective of artists and performers have formed the organization The Sound Strike, as a form of protest against Arizona’s recently enacted Senate Bill 1070. A press release issued Tuesday, May 25 stated, “…We are not going to comply. We are not going to play in Arizona. We are going to boycott Arizona!”

Arizona’s SB 1070 allows, “where reasonable suspicion exists that the person is an alien who is unlawfully present in the United States, a reasonable attempt shall be made when practicable, to determine the immigration status of the person.”

The law has called in to question by citizens both inside and outside of Arizona as well as various public officials including President Obama.

“Some of us grew up dealing with racial profiling, but this law (SB 1070) takes it to a whole new low,” the press release read. “If other states follow the direction of the Arizona government, we could be headed towards a pre-civil rights era reality.”

Weeks ago, Pitbull canceled an Arizona tour date scheduled for May 31. Jenni Rivera and Wisin & Yandel also canceled stops on their AEG Live-promoted summer tours with the full backing of AEG Live president/CEO Randy Phillips.

The full press release and explanation of Sound Strike can be found on its Web site, where other artists may also opt to join. Below is a list of artists participating in the boycott.

Cypress Hill
Conor Oberst
Los Tigres del Norte
Rage Against the Machine
Cafe Tacvba
Michael Moore
Kanye West
Calle 13
Joe Satriani
Serj Tankian
Rise Against
Sabertooth Tiger
Massive Attack
One Day as a Lion
Street Sweeper Social Club
Spank Rock
Sonic Youth
Tenacious D