Vince Staples has announced his new album Dark Times and shared the project’s first single, “Shame on the Devil.”

The Long Beach rapper took to Instagram on Sunday (May 19) to reveal that his next project will be released on Friday (May 24).



Dark Times will serve as Vince’s final album on Def Jam after signing to the iconic label back in 2013.

“Eleven years ago, a young, uncertain version of myself was given an opportunity with Def Jam Recordings,” he wrote.



“I released my first project under their banner, Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2, a year later. I was unsure of what to expect from the world of music but deeply aware of what I needed: a change in my surroundings and a clear understanding of self.

“Ten years and seven projects later, I’ve found that clarity. Now, I share with you my final Def Jam release, Dark Times. 5.24.24.”

To go with the announcement, Vince Staples also shared the cover art and tracklist for the album, which includes 13 new songs.

The first single from the album, “Shame on the Devil,” was produced by Saint Mino, Tyler Page, Joe Harrison and Michael Uzowuru, with Baby Rose singing on the chorus.

Vince raps in the first verse: “I long for lovin’ and affection/ These hoes ain’t what I need, I need direction/ Don’t leave me, please, swear I learned my lesson/ But, I still chase thrills, I’m imperfected/ I don’t want to talk on the phone, leave me a message.”

ScHoolboy Q Fuels Excitement For Vince Staples' New Album With Lofty Praise
ScHoolboy Q Fuels Excitement For Vince Staples' New Album With Lofty Praise

In a press release, the 30-year-old called the song — which is accompanied by a stylish split screen video — “a personal achievement.”

“It’s me mastering some things I’ve tried before that I wasn’t great at in the beginning,” he said. “It’s a testament to musical growth, song structure — all the good stuff.”



Vince Staples released all five of his studio albums on Def Jam, including Summertime ’06, Big Fish Theory, FM!, Vince Staples and Ramona Park Broke My Heart. He also dropped two EPs on the label: Hell Can Wait and Prima Donna.

Listen to “Shame on the Devil” and check out the tracklist for Dark Times below.

HHDX YouTube Video Player - Play ButtonYoutube Video - Vince Staples Announces New Album 'Dark Times,' Drops First Single 'Shame On The Devil'

1. Close Your Eyes and Swing
2. Black & Blue
3. Government Cheese
4. Children’s Song
5. Shame on the Devil
6. Étouffée
7. Liars
8. Justin
9. Radio
10. Nothing Matters
11. Little Homies
12. Freeman
13. Why Won’t the Sun Come Out?