Kamaiyah has rolled through with an unexpected mixtape — Before I Wake, the follow-up to 2016’s A Good Night In The Ghetto

Beginning with “Dope Bitch,” the 10-track effort instantly explodes with ’90s gangsta rap flavor. The momentum continues with tracks like “Slide (Bet),” but the Oakland native also slows things down on songs like “Me Against Myself.”

In a recent Instagram post, the seasoned MC admitted she was having a trying year after her brother passed away from cancer. She also revealed Before I Wake was a result of feeling “trapped.”

“I lost my brother to cancer and went through a extreme depression,” she wrote. “and creatively I felt trapped with my project being held up due to samples I lost my way and decided to take initiative by recording and putting together music for my fans all on my own because I felt it was time thank you for everyone who has been patient.”

Check out the album stream, cover art and tracklist below.

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 10.57.37 AM
  1. Dope Bitch
  2. Slide (Bet)
  3. The Wave
  4. Playa In Me
  5. Me Against Myself
  6. Does She Know
  7. Fashion
  8. Leave Me
  9. How I Live
  10. Therapy