Brother Ali has announced the upcoming release of his fourth full-length album Mourning in America and Dreaming in Color, dropping August 21st.

For the project, the Rhymesayers Entertainment recording artist teamed up with producer Jake One, who helmed the entirety of the LP. Guests on the LP include Dr. Cornel West (“Letter to My Countrymen”), Bun B (“Need a Knot”) and Def Poetry Jam poet Amir Sulaiman (“Gather Round”).

In a press release, Brother Ali explained of the album, “This is not just a new album, but a new chapter. There’s a kind of democratic reawakening in people at this point in time. I was really looking to take these topics and really hit them hard. To try to open ears and hearts and invite people to take some action and feel empowered. To be engaged and take some agency and responsibility for what’s going on in the world.”

Check the artwork below, and pre-order the album over at Rhymesayers.


(June 19)

UPDATE: According to, the tracklist for Brother Ali’s Mourning In America And Dreaming In Color is as follows:

1.     Letter To My Countrymen
2.     Only Life I Know
3.     Stop The Press
4.     Mourning In America
5.     Gather Round
6.     Work Everyday
7.     Need a Knot
8.     Won More Hit
9.     Say Amen
10.     Fajr
11.     Namesake
12.     All You Need
13.     My Beloved
14.     Singing This Song

[June 30]

UPDATE #2: Brother Ali has released the full stream of the standard edition of his new album Mourning in America and Dreaming in Color. Listen to the LP below (via HHNM).

RELATED: Brother Ali Explains “Mourning In America And Dreaming In Color,” Remembers Eyedea