On the heels of the release of his Undivided Attention EP, J-Live is currently prepping the release of his fifth album S.P.T.A. (Said Person of That Ability), due in August. Speaking with The Pace Report, the multifaceted artist explained that running his shingle Triple Threat (“I’m known as a producer, DJ and an MC”) influenced the new album.

“Just in terms of that, the phrase ‘Said Person of That Ability,’ it’s about having those three dimensions of my music sort of split three ways,” he said. “So on this record, I’m approaching certain songs and approaching the overall album as a three-man group rather than as a soloist. So there’s songs where I’m coming in and out of myself, there’s sort of chemistry where we approached some of the vocals high, some low and in between as if they’re three different characters on the song.”

J-Live chalks it up to the responsibilities that come with having a platform to spread ideas to the Hip Hop community.

“It’s really speaking towards the opportunity and the responsibility of an artist such as myself, who was raised on a certain kind of Hip Hop with a certain standard and a certain quality and certain work ethic and a certain social commentary,” he continued. “It sort of adds on. So ‘Said Person of That Ability,’ if i have the ability to teach and give social commentary and offer my perspective as a black man in America, as a father, as a son, as a teacher, as a student, then if I have the avenue to do so through music, that’s part of my responsibility as ‘Said Person of That Ability.’”

Watch the rest of the interview below, where he speaks on the difficulties of being an independent artist and serving as both an MC and a producer.

(July 18)

UPDATE: Today, J-Live announced that S.P.T.A. (Said Person Of That Ability) will now be released on September 27.

(July 28)

UPDATE: J-Live’s S.P.T.A. (Said Person of That Ability) tracklisting is as follows:

1 As I Start
2 From Scratch
3 The Authentic
4 Watch Sun Watch (feat. YC The Cynic)
5 How I Feel Pt. 3
6 The Me And You (feat. Anneice Cousin)
7 No Time To Waste
8 Pronounced Spitta
9 Life Comes In Threes (feat Rasheeda Ali)
10 Great Expectations
11 Poetry In Ertia (feat. John Robinson and Marq Spekt)
12 Home Or Away Remix
13 Half A Glass (feat. Lyric Jones)

RELATED: Freeway, Random Axe, Ras Kass, J-Live Announced To 2011 A3C Festival