During a conference call with Best of Both Offices, recent Def Jam signee, Big Boi revealed that the nine-year wait since an official Dungeon Family compilation may be ending in 2010.

“The whole Dungeon Family thing is in full effect,” Big Boi offered. “The family is out here working in Dungeon East, Dre is working on his solo record, and I’ve been at Stankonia recording like a monster.  We’ve got so much music, and we’re gonna unleash it on the world starting this year. I just heard about 10 or 11 songs. My boy Ray [Murray] from Organized Noize just came through and played some stuff with Big Rube and Cool Breeze on it.”

In the meantime, Big Boi has been has been finishing his contribution to the Dungeon Family catalogue in the form of his solo album, Sir Lucious Leftfoot: The Son of Chico Dusty. In addition to the single “Shutterbugg,” which Big Boi says Scott Storch “was sitting on for a couple years” especially for him, Big Boi plans to slightly update his formula to fit Hip Hop’s more digital approach.

“A month before the album, we’re gonna give y’all an in-depth look at how me made it,” Big Boi explained. “We might do them twice a week…one on Monday and another one Friday. That gives people a chance to see real, everyday life—from hitting the studio and making the album, to getting on this chitlin’ circuit and doing shows.”

Big Boi also fielded questions during the conference call, and took some time to explain why there have been so many delays in getting a firm release date for his project.

“LaFace got moved over to Jive with the whole merger four or five years ago,” he explained. “I had been over there jivin’ and having a lot of creative differences. What brought it all to a head is when they asked me to go in and make my own verse to Lil Wayne’s ‘Lollipop.’ At that point, I kinda knew that they didn’t understand what was going on.”

Sir Lucious Leftfoot: The Son of Chico Dusty is currently scheduled for a July 6, and will available in both a standard retail version with 14 songs as well as a deluxe version with 18 tracks. B.o.B, Andre 3000, Gucci Mane, T.I. and Jamie Foxx and others all have guest appearances.