In celebration of their 15th anniversary, Def Jam is releasing a compilation entitled,” Def Jam Recording 1985-2001 – The History of Hip-Hop Volume I”. The album features 17 of the best Def Jam releases of the years including, “Fight the Power” by PE, “Crossover” by EPMD and more recently “Party Up” by DMX. The album should be in stores store by the end of February.

Russell Simmons and Rick Rubin created Def Jam in November 1984 with a seed capitol of only $4000. The label’s first releases were LL Cool J and The Beastie Boys, they continued on to released pioneering albums by Public Enemy, Slick Rick, Redman, EPMD, etc.