Although coveted Detroit beatsmith J Dilla lost his life in 2006, he’s left behind a treasure trove of timeless musical compositions. His latest posthumous release comes in the form of the beat tape called Motor City,which boasts 19 tracks plus some notable features from Hip Hop pioneers like Q-Tip and Busta Rhymes, who both pop up on an exclusive J. Rocc remix, the “J-Rocc Blend #2.”

The album is packaged in a limited-edition mailing envelope and framed as a “letter” to Jay Dee from his mother, Ma Dukes. It’s complete with a handwritten message to him that is included in the insert.

Motor City follows the release of Dilla’s full-length album, The Diary, and the compilation, Jay Dee’s Ma Dukes Collection. Ma Dukes has been instrumental in arranging all of his posthumous releases through the J Dilla Foundation, which aims to enrich the community by enhancing local music programs and awarding students with scholarships, while keeping Dilla’s name alive.



Check out the album stream, cover art and tracklist below.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 1.05.02 PM


  1. Motor City 1
  2. Motor City 2
  3. Motor City 3
  4. Motor City 4
  5. Motor City 5
  6. Motor City 6
  7. Motor City 7
  8. Motor City 8
  9. Motor City 9
  10. Motor City 10
  11. Motor City 11
  12. Motor City 12
  13. Motor City 13
  14. Motor City 14
  15. Motor City 15
  16. Motor City 16
  17. Motor City 17
  18. Motor City 18
  19. Motor City 19
  20. Motor City (J Rocc Mix)