By now, it’s no secret A$AP Rocky was named after arguably one of the greatest Hip Hop lyricists of all time.

Rocky, born Rakim Mayers was named after Rakim (a.k.a. Rakim Allah) – one half of the duo Eric B. & Rakim.

The title of Rocky’s upcoming sophomore studio album is directly derived from his birth name and the legendary emcee his mother named him after.

“I’m named after Rakim, and I’m finally facing what it means: I was born to do this shit,” Rocky explained to GQ. “And I hope I get to do it for a very long time.”

The Harlem-bred rapper recently let GQ inside of his Hollywood home, where he briefly detailed his forthcoming project and broke down the meaning of its title.

“I’m claiming ownership of my legacy,” Rocky stated to the men’s lifestyle publication. “Look at it: At.Long.Last.A$AP. A-L-L-A. Like slang for ‘Allah.’

“It’s the return of the god MC,” he added.

Piece-by-piece, Rocky has been providing clues concerning the follow-up to 2013’s Long.Live.A$AP.

He’s mentioned his deceased friend, A$AP Yams, is credited with an executive producer role. Danger mouse, Juicy J, and F.K.A. Twigs have all contributed to the album, and according to GQ, “At.Long.Last.A$AP was born in London at Red Bull Studios.”

A release date for the project has not been announced, but Rocky is scheduled to discuss the album during a “A Conversation With A$AP Rocky” at the St Pancras Renaissance London Hotel in London Wednesday, April 8.


Photo credit: Eric Ray Davidson

For additional A$AP Rocky coverage, watch the following DX Daily:

(March 26, 2015) UPDATE: A$AP Rocky’s A.L.L.A. album is slated for a May 26, 2015 release date, according to Amazon. (April 5, 2015) UPDATE #2: A$AP Rocky’s A.L.L.A. album is slated for a May 12, 2015 release date, according to Hits Daily Double. (April 15, 2015)  UPDATE #3: A$AP Rocky has unveiled the cover art for his second studio album, At Long Last A$AP. The cover is predominately black-and-white. But across Rocky’s face there is a birth mark, which resembles the one A$AP Yams had on his face. Check it out below:

A$AP Rocky


AT LONG LAST…. A photo posted by PRETTY FLACKO (@asvpxrocky) on

(May 9, 2015)

UPDATE #4: The At.Long.Last.A$AP tracklist is now available, via HipHopNMore.

It is as follows:

  1. Holy Ghost (feat. Joe Fox)
  2. Canal St. (feat. Bones)

  3. Fine Whine (feat. M.I.A., Future & Joe Fox)

  4. L$D

  5. Excuse Me

  6. JD

  7. Lord Pretty Flacko Jodye 2

  8. Electric Body (feat. Schoolboy Q)

  9. Jukebox Joints (feat. Kanye West & Joe Fox)

  10. Max B (feat. Joe Fox)

  11. Pharsyde (feat. Joe Fox)

  12. Wavybone (feat. Juicy J & UGK)

  13. Westside Highway (feat. James Fauntleroy)

  14. Better Things

  15. M’$ (feat. Lil Wayne)

  16. Dreams (interlude)

  17. Everyday (feat. Rod Stewart & Miguel)

  18. Back Home (feat. Mos Def, Acyde & Yams)

(May 21, 2015)

UPDATE #5: The stream of A$AP Rocky’s At.Long.Last.A$AP album is now available via Spotify.

It is also below.