Today, Pro Era’s Joey Bada$$ announced his next project. The Brooklyn, New York emcee is working on an EP called Summer Knights. The title takes its name from the Chuck Strangers-produced song from Joey’s 2012 mixtape, 1999. The tape would later receive Mixtape Of The Year honors from HipHopDX.

The project will release on June 12. Previously, Bada$$ referred to the project as a “mixtape,” which is presumably a free effort.

Summer Knights EP was initially thought to be a Pro Era group project from Joey’s May 10 tweet, though in today’s tweet, Bada$$ referred to it as his own.

This summer, Bada$$ will appear on Statik Selektah’s Extended Play album.

(May 22)

UPDATE: Joey Bada$$ has now added that Summer Knights will be a long-format project, not an EP. The Brooklyn, New York emcee confirmed today on Twitter:

UPDATE #2: Joey Bada$$ has released the cover art to Summer Knights, which is billed under his own name:

(May 29)

UPDATE #3: Joey Bada$$ now says that the June 12 release date has been “pushed back.” This morning (June 10), Joey announced the delay with Summer Knights on Twitter:

UPDATE #4: Following the announcement on June 10, Joey Bada$$ has provided fans with a new release date for his Summer Knights mixtape. According to a tweet today and confirmation from his publicist, the Pro Era front-man will release the project on July 1:

(June 12)

UPDATE #5: Joey Bada$$ has revealed the tracklist for his upcoming Summer Knights mixtape. The July 1 release from the Brooklyn rapper features production from the AlchemistStatik Selektah, Doom and Chuck Strangers, as well as guest appearances from members of the Pro Era collective, such as CJ Fly and Kirk Knight. The mixtape will also feature the recently released single “95 Til Infinity.” 

The Summer Knights tracklist is as follows:

01. Alowha (prod. Kirk Knight)

02. Hilary $wank (prod. Lee Bannon)

03. My Youth (f. Collie Buddz) (prod. Chuck Strangers)

04. Afterlife (f. Kirk Knight (prod. Chuck Strangers & Patrick Eulmi)

05. Right on Time (T’nah Apex) (prod. Kirk Knight)

06. Sweet Dreams (prod. Navie D)

07. 47goonz f. Dirty Sanchez, Nyck Caution & Rokamouth (prod. Lee Bannon)

08. Sit N’ Prey f. Dessy Hinds & T’nah Apex (prod. Navie D)

09. Word Is Bond (prod. Statik Selektah)

10. Trap Dour (prod. Alchemist)

11. Satellite f. Chuck Strangers, Kirk Knight & Dessy Hinds (prod. Lee Bannon)

12. 95 Til Infinity (prod. Lee Bannon)

13. Amethyst Rockstar f. Kirk Knight (prod. DOOM)

14. Reign (prod. Chuck Strangers)

15. Sorry Bonita f. Dyemond Lewis, Chuck Strangers, Dirty Sanchez, A La Sole, Kirk Knight, Dessy Hinds & CJ Fly [prod. Oddisee)

16. #LongLiveSteelo (Bonus track) (prod. Kirk Knight)

Additional Reporting By Amir Attia

(June 28)

UPDATE #6: Joey Bada$$ released the stream and the download link for Summer Knights today (July 1). The mixtape can be downloaded at and can be streamed below.

RELATED: Pro Era Producer Chuck Strangers Remembers Capital Steez