It looked like Mick Jenkins was focused on 2018 as far as any new projects went but he decided to surprise fans with a new EP before the end of the year. The lyrical maven from Chicago has dropped or more; the anxious, a seven-track release with guest appearances by Saba and Michael Anthony.

The EP is the first in a series of projects featuring work that has inspired Jenkins’ next album.

Or More is a project series involving musical ideas and concepts that are currently inspiring the album’s creation process,” he wrote on SoundCloud. “As creatives we live in a world of time constraints imposed by illusive industry standards, anxious demands of appreciators, or even our own self reflections. #OrMore is a smaller context of this larger pool of thoughts.. a world of exploration removed from the confines of a particular method. Its my way of sharing the beauty in Indecisiveness. Sometimes we have to make music to locate the true music within our being. The first hones in on the ANXIOUS.”

Check out the stream, cover art and tracklist for Jenkins’ or more; the anxious below.

Mick Jenkins Drops EP

1. Happy Gilmore (prod. by Origami Beats)
2. C is For CashMoney (prod. by ENG Creation & THEMPeople)
3. A Layover (prod. by THEMPeople)
4. Gucci Bag f. Michael Anthony (prod. by ENG Creation)
5. Vampire in Brooklyn (prod. by GreenSLLIME)
6. FreeNation Rebels (prod. by Ahwlee)
7. Energies f. Saba (prod. by THEMPeople)