Talib Kweli’s Javotti Media is slated to release the soundtrack to best selling-author MK Asante‘s memoir, Buck.

Buck: The Original Book Soundtrack consists of 12 tracks, including “Godz N The Hood” featuring Bishop Lamont, Rass Kass and Talib Kweli. Pieces from poets Maya Angelou and Amiri Baraka are also set to be on the digital release.

Buck, the memoir is important not just for its scope and passion,” Kweli told AllHipHop, “but for the author’s refusal to apologize for existing.

“The accompanying soundtrack allows you to engulf yourself in this world,” Kweli adds. “When you do, you realize that this work of art is not just important, but necessary.”

To commemorate the one-year anniversary of the paperback release of BuckBuck: The Original Book Soundtrack will be released May 13 as a free digital download on MKAsante.com and KweliClub.com.

The tracklisting is as follows:


1. Intro
2. Young Bucks (Feat. King Mez)
3. The Bulletin (Feat. Uzi)
4. Hungry & Foolish
5. Blank Page
6. Buck Shots (Feat. Uzi)
7. Godz N The Hood (Feat. Bishop Lamont, Rass Kass & Talib Kweli)
8. Oh Bitch You Weary (Feat. Amiri Baraka)
9. Blood in My Eye
10. My Victory (Feat. Maya Angelou)
11. Wanderlust
12. Outro [Wonderful]

Please enable Javascript to watch this video