ScHoolboy Q says his new album, Oxymoron, is slated to be released January 2014, according to the rapper’s verse on Isaiah Rashad’s “Shot You Down (Remix),” which was released today (October 18). 

During his verse on the selection, Q addresses his album’s delays. 

“I’m still stuck in my ways,” ScHoolboy Q raps on the song. “A nigga just tryin’ to get paid / I’m tired of answering questions why Oxymoron delayed / See, I was thinking November, but January is sweet / They set my Setbacks is free, my Habits won in my sleep / So January agree, get a taste of this gangsta / See I’m just tryna eat with a freak of the week.”

The album has been delayed several times, reportedly due to sample clearance issues. Q recently confirmed that he completed the album and said that he’d submitted the project to Top Dawg, CEO of Top Dawg Ent. However, Top Dawg later told fans that Oxymoron still had samples to clear before it could have a release date.

Top Dawg’s September Twitter updates can be found below. 

ScHoolboy Q has spoken extensively about Oxymoron

In June, Q spoke with HipHopDX about how his fellow Black Hippy members have influenced his work on Oxymoron.

“I strive to be better than Kendrick, Ab-Soul and Jay Rock,” Q says. “You have to compete. You can’t just let them niggas just keep shootin’ over you. Especially Kendrick, at the rate he’s going and progressing in this music. It’s inspiring. It’s crazy. I’m glad he dropped [good kid, m.A.A.d city]. If he didn’t drop that album, there’s no telling how good my album would’ve been. It’s competition. I gotta be better than his shit or just as good. It has to be just as good or better.” 

(October 18)

UPDATE: ScHoolboy Q has announced Oxymoron’s release date. The project is set to be released February 25.

(December 21)

UPDATE #2: Top Dawg Entertainment has revealed the cover art for ScHoolboy Q’s standard and deluxe editions of Oxymoron. The cover art for the standard edition can be found below, followed by the deluxe version, which features a ski mask. 

The tracklisting cannot be confirmed as of yet, but it does appear that “Collard Greens,” “Man of the Year” and “Break The Bank” are slated to appear on the project, according to the standard edition’s tentative tracklisting on iTunes

(January 20)

UPDATE #3: The tracklist for ScHoolboy Q’s Oxymoron has been released. The project is slated to feature Jay Rock, Kendrick Lamar, 2 Chainz, Tyler, the Creator and Kurupt, among others. The tracklist can be found below, as reported by Complex.

1. “Gangsta”
2. “Los Awesome” (f. Jay Rock)
3. “Collard Greens” (f. Kendrick Lamar)
4. “What They Want” (f. 2 Chainz)
5. “Hoover Street”
6. “Studio” (f. BJ the Chicago Kid)
7. “Prescription/Oxymoron”
8. “The Purge” (f. Tyler, the Creator & Kurupt)
9. “Blind Threats” (f. Raekwon)
10. “Hell of a Night”
11. “Break the Bank”
12. “Man of the Year”
13. “His & Her Friend” (f. SZA)
14 “Grooveline Pt. 2″ (f. Suga Free)
15. “F**k LA”

(February 3)

UPDATE #4: ScHoolboy Q’s Oxymoron is available for streaming through iTunes. In order to stream the album before its release date, click here.   

RELATED: ScHoolboy Q Says Kendrick Lamar Inspires Him, Talks Parenting & “Oxymoron”