Moments ago, at Los Angeles Rock The Bells 2010 press conference, Guerrilla Union announced that this year’s summer tour lineup will be focused towards classic Rap albums, particularly of the late ’80s. Emcee and freestyle champion Supernatural confirmed the following albums will be performed in their entirety this year, with potentially more:

Boogie Down Productions will perform Criminal Minded. The 1987 album made largely by BDP members KRS-One and the late Scott LaRock prompted such hits as “Poetry,” “South Bronx” and “The Bridge Is Over.” The famed album was originally released on B-Boy Records. There is yet to be word is the Bronx outfit will also include active Hip Hop members such as D-Nice or DJ Kenny Parker.

Slick Rick will perform his debut album, The Great Adventures of Slick Rick. Released by Def Jam/Columbia Records in 1988, the archetypal storytelling album prompted the hits “Mona Lisa” and frequently interpolated “Children’s Story” by the iconic emcee and Doug E. Fresh protege.

Rakim will be performing his 1987 debut album, Paid In Full. The collaborative release with producer/deejay/manager Eric B. was released on 4th & Broadway/Island Records, featuring the title track, “Eric B. Is President” and “I Ain’t No Joke.” There is no word yet if Rakim and Eric B will be reuniting for the performance. The duo has not worked together in almost 18 years, since 1992’s Don’t Sweat The Technique.

Lastly, Wu-Tang Clan will perform their acclaimed 1993 debut Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers). Released on Loud Records, the RZA-produced magnum opus prompted the careers for over half a dozen emcees within the New York collective under hits such as “C.R.E.A.M.,” “Protect Ya Neck” and “Method Man.” It is assumed at this time that all members will be participating in this effort.

Guerilla’s CEO Chang Weisberg confirmed in the press conference that these acts will perform other songs from their respective catalogs after the albums are finished. That being said, the work is believed to appear in sequence.

Other artists on the Rock The Bells bill include The Clipse, Brother Ali, Wiz Khalifa, Yelawolf, Murs & 9th Wonder, Jedi Mind Tricks, Immortal Technique, Street Sweeper Social Club and Big Sean.

The trend of performing classic albums is not a new one to Rap. In the last five years, Jay-Z has performed Reasonable Doubt, GZA has performed Liquid Swords and Smif n’ Wessun performed Dah Shinin‘.

HipHopDX will keep you updated with further lineup details, dates and venues and more Rock The Bells information.

UPDATE: The tour will begin in San Bernardino’s NOS Events Center on August 21, followed by San Francisco’s Shoreline Amphitheatre on August 22.  New York will get their show on August 28 at Governer’s Island and the tour will end in Washington DC on the 29th at the Merriweather Post Pavillion.

Additional Reporting by Andres Tardio.