Brandy - Two Eleven

HipHopDX Editor's Rating:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Average User Rating:


4 people have voted.

4 is the most popular ranking.

1 people gave it a perfect five.

Cast your vote »

Brandy's latest album "Two Eleven" lets one consistent beauty shine: her voice.

It’s been 18 years since Brandy came to our CD collections as an ingenue with her first single “I Want To Be Down” - and it’s been a long road since then that involves motherhood, separation, car accidents, botched record deals, and a few hit singles here and there. Upon her debut she followed Aaliyah’s Age Ain’t Nothing But a Number release and some comparisons. Her innocent image reigned through and allowed her follow-up, Never Say Never, to be a contemporary success by intertwining promotion and exposure of her UPN show “Moesha” and made-for-TV movie with Diana Ross “Double Platinum.” Her third, fourth, and fifth album didn’t make the splash as its predecessors and it took Brandy down a road of actively pursuing a new sound that would inspire her. Let’s not forget her brief stint with Timbaland and her rap alter-ego Bra’Nu.

Brandy’s latest album Two Eleven lets one consistent beauty shine: her voice. There’s also a clear return to the R&B groove that beautifully suits her husky voice, unlike her pop-centered previous album Human. “Slower” produced by Switch and co-written by Chris Brown shows a foot-forward in Brandy’s slow-groove vocals with Switch’s gritty production. Among some of the best collaborations, there’s the Frank Ocean penned track “Scared of Beautiful” - originally supposed to be a duet with Ocean that never came to fruition.

Measuring the album by the choice of singles is the wrong way to go. “Put It Down” however successful (it is Brandy’s first Top Ten R&B single in 10 years) doesn’t capture any melody Brandy would with her voice. Even the “Put It Down” video conjures up memories of Ashanti’s 2004 “Only U” video where she began to attack hard choreography in a post-Beyoncé R&B world, where female R&B artists began to walk ground they weren’t equipped to walk. The second single, “Wildest Dreams” while working best as the album's track opener, doesn’t really highlight the exciting vocal fortitude shown in “No Such Thing As Too Late,” “Without You,” and “Wish Your Love Away” - all stellar tracks and possible radio singles.

It’s a little difficult to tie a Brandy album to her personal life considering she only wrote on 3 of the 17 tracks (deluxe edition). Still, she wants us to believe that this an incredibly personal album in content. Naming it Two Eleven, after the date of her birth (and the date of Whitney Houston’s death), gives us an indication that she’s about to bare soul in a way we’ve never heard before - she doesn’t. Two Eleven, while a well-crafted and produced album, falls short by comeback standards and considering it took 3 years to make, fans were definitely rooting for this to be triumphant.



  • Shahin

    Nobody is hating here. Everyone know she capability to do another FULL MOON album. But she keeps wasting time on helping out new producers make their dreams come true ,instead of giving her fans what they really want and deserve. I'm getting tired in my head:-) Brandy you are not mother Teresa. Do you what you are brought here to do!

  • nick

    this album is great. stop hat in

  • Julius

    Nice comeback album that came with a punch

  • glafflin

    I dont think DMX new album was even reviewed on this site yet. WTF

    • Anonymous

      Yep exactly, I don't know what the fucks wrong with them. Its like its one dude their reviewing his own favorite artist or some shit. You cant have bias running a site that's made to give the general public a good view or break down of an album. Recanstruction, Good of Serengeti,and Undisputed are all obvious Hip Hop albums and would be reviewed on any Hip Hop site that claims to be a Hip Hop site. The count is not over yet though but the fact that this has been review before those is pretty sad.

  • Anonymous

    Ok so you can review this album thats not even Hip Hop but you cant do a review on Vinnie Paz new album God of the Serengeti? WTF

  • shut up

    Congrats DX, you reviewed another album nobody gave a fuck about.

    • Luuuc

      Yeah, shoulda gone with 29 reviews in 30 days. Not as catchy sounding, but credibility would have been maintained.

    • Anonymous

      Just from the top of my head, albums that I'd like to read a review about: - E-40 & Too Short: History Project - K'Naan: Country, God or the Girl - Vinnie Paz: God of the Serengeti - Ryan Leslie: Les Is More

    • Big Boss

      Yeah really I haven't heard of half of the albums DX has reviews since the 30 in 30 started. Still needing reviews are: RICANstruction and Iron Fists soundtrack. Pretty pathetic that those haven't been reviewed yet. Also it's pathetic there is no contact information on the website.

    • Anonymous

      LMFAO very true though

  • Anonymous

    Put It Down is nothing like Ashanti's Only U video. This reviewer is smoking something fierce.

  • TaZzZ

    Why are you reviewing this with so much good shit com in out DX? Wtf... this is hip hop?