Del The Funky Homosapien - Golden Era Triple Pack

HipHopDX Editor's Rating:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Average User Rating:


8 people have voted.

5 is the most popular ranking.

5 people gave it a perfect five.

Cast your vote »

Golden Era is an extremely tight, solid package, clocking in at less than 40 minutes through ten tracks.

Del the Funky Homosapien’s (or tha Funkee Homosapien, depending on whom you ask) journey through Hip Hop has been an interesting one. His early career included debut album I Wish My Brother George Was Here, a release whose commercial success did not match its critical acclaim, as well as various writing collaborations with cousin Ice Cube. A highly-regarded collaboration with Dan the Automator and DJ Kid Koala, Deltron 3030, led to show-stealing cameos on the Gorillaz’ self-titled debut, firmly entrenching Del as a cult favorite.

The album’s title (Golden Era) couldn’t be more fitting, though it feels decidedly tongue-in-cheek. Sure, Golden Era has Del channeling the emcees of the late 80s—stream-of-consciousness raps punctuated by ridiculous braggadocio—but through a filter that is unmistakably Del. The animated emcee brings his eclectic delivery and unique diction over low-fi production, tackling well-worn questions about the status of Hip Hop (and perhaps himself) with a humorous self-awareness.

“Double Barrel” is one of many instances on the album which play with the notion that Del is Hip Hop itself: “I, self, lord and master, using force and practice / That you swore was magic or some kind of tactic / Nah, it’s all-natural, skill in action / I do this shit chillin’, relaxin’ / Don’t even got a million to back it / But I’m iller than that shit / You feel epitomizes the rap script / That’s a flop, next scene you see a casket drop / I’m out there like NASA astronauts / I think outside the box, you deny my props / Don’t lie to yourself, you know I’m kinda hot / …Teeth growing pearly white / You don’t even deserve the mic / I’m dropping turds on sight / Like my fucking cousin, duck for cover / I’m busting clusters up, mustard gas / I’m much too fast, must I brag?”

Bars like those above don’t do justice to Del’s technical mastery when typed out; he shifts in and out of rhyme patterns effortlessly—it’s truly a clinic on rhyme. The production is no slouch either, as it serves as a perfect complement to the emceeing. The slinky bass on “Calculate” serves as a perfect backdrop to Del’s looping flow, while “Makes No Sense” brings the funk and “Pearly Gates” has a futuristic twinge of alarm to it. “Raw” may be the album’s crown jewel, however, evoking memories of Dizzee Rascal’s “Sirens.” Though these sounds are greatly varied, they all play into the thematic sound Del has constructed for himself and generally blend.

In sum, Golden Era is an extremely tight, solid package, clocking in at less than 40 minutes through ten tracks. Though there’s nothing on here that will make you forget some of Del’s more-heralded releases, there’s not a weak cut on the album. So kick back and prepare to enjoy this short-but-sweet release, equally amicable to an attentive or spaced-out listening experience.

Purchase Golden Era By Del Tha Funkee Homosapien



  • Lidia Wachowska

    Can't wait to see him in Chicago June 3

  • Tywe Damaja

    Yo its dope! I think it'll blow ma mind!

  • Mr FoulStyles

    Yall trippin.. this is tight. Its a throwbaq album where the beats just provide a groove 4 DEL's ILL lyrics. Using BREAK BEATS AND SAMPLES! This makes you rewind just 2 hear what he said. This cd is proof lyrics are no longer thought about in HIPHOP. Its ORIGINAL! This isn't a cd 4 youngsters that don't respect the game. The rhymes are siq, the beats are FUNKY!, & the direction is there. Everyone says we need something new besides the everyday sound, & then when someone delivers it to you, you wanna talk shit. This is proof that real MC's are still around... Yall just wont let it emerge in the 4front of the genre again... sad... but this cd is FIRE!

  • spliff(TONE)

    Another weak DEL release. If you didn't like 11th Hour, don't expect much better here. He really needs to go back to working with outside producers. The only work of his I've cared much for in the last 5+ years is the semi-recent LP with Tame One.

  • I'm At Work And Bored

    Bought the cd today. highly disappointed. I give this 3 just because it's Del. I should of just downloaded it. Actual cds are very poorly made and didn't even come with insert, no production credits. And who the hell are Council Partners Entertainment? So much for Hieroglyphics Imperium label. Seems like Del don't wanna be part of Hiero anymore.

  • rodney

    I think 4 is too rich for my blood, No Need For Alarm was a 4. I Wish My Brother George Was Here was a 4. This is a 3.5, but I'm not mad. Del deserves recognition like this.

  • Wahr

    Del always drops good music

  • Anonymous

    why is every release 4* on this site, step outside the box every once in a while.

  • enigmaa

    BRAVO! Cali is Always On Point

  • I'm At Work And Bored

    I hope this is better than 11th hour.

  • chronwell

    I really like this review. Slava K might write one in a week that I will detest but in this review he offers a proper 2011 view of a masterful 90's MC. I was just listening to Automatik Statik yesterday. Del's new stuff is tailor made for his fan base and the beats knock too.