Producer J57 has delivered a surprise EP for his fans titled Sonic Boom Bap. Although the eight new songs didn’t make it onto his forthcoming album, as he puts it, they “were too good to go to waste.” Featuring Thom Seveer, Toki Wright, Exile, Blame One and more, Sonic Boom Bap defies categorization.

“I coined the phrase ‘Sonic Boom Bap’ because ‘boom bap’ doesn’t quite fit the sub-genre of Hip Hop I make solo wise,” J57 tells HipHopDX. “While it does fit the soundscape of my groups Brown Bag AllStars and Jamo Gang, my solo stuff just doesn’t fit that category completely so I made my own lane.”

Check out the EP above and tracklist below.

  1. DrumGod
  2. My Resolution f. Thom Seveer
  3. Same Old Jimmy
  4. Top Floor f. Toki Wright
  5. Listening to Axelrod f. Exile, Blame One, CashUs King, Tenacity & Sly5th Ave
  6. ForeverEndevour f. Nichelle of Bulla Fey
  7. Sometimes
  8. Sonic Boom Bap f. DJ Mark Ski