HipHopDX Premiere: The multi-talented Alex Rocks (real name Alejandro Melero) is back with the Sleep Sinatra-assisted title track of his debut album Rise N Shine!, which follows his 7” Get Em Up featuring Replife. The Spanish DJ, musician and beatsmith hooked up with French singer Jessica Fitoussi and U.S.-based rappers Sleep Sinatra, Junclassic, and Jack Jones to complete the forthcoming 11-track project.

“When I made this beat I was looking for the perfect sample in my jazz records collection – some brass, the combination of different samples to go with the beat,” Rocks tells HipHopDX. “It reminded me of the Beatnuts. I sent it to Sleep Sinatra and we started working on the track.”

From the golden era sound of the title track to raw soul on “Moonlight Creedence,” the album bursts with socially conscious and intelligent lyrics provided by his collaborators. Armed with his Akai MPC2000XL, Rocks’ sound is unlike anything from his Spanish peers. With a sonic East Coast Hip Hop aesthetic, its jazz-tinged vibe is as authentic to the culture as it gets. Rise N Shine! is expected April 14.

Listen to the title track above and check out the tracklist below.

A1. Intro
A2. Rise N Shine (Feat. Sleep Sinatra)
A3. All In Ya Mind (Feat. Jack Jones)
A4. Bring It To ‘Em (Feat. Sleep Sinatra)
A5. Moonlight Creedence (Feat. Jessica Fitoussi)
A6. Globe Runners (Feat. Sleep Sinatra)
B1. Ultimatum (Feat. Sleep Sinatra)
B2. My Time (Feat. Junclassic)
B3. The Illness (Feat. Sleep Sinatra)
B4. C’mon
B5. Bring It To ‘Em Remix (Feat. Sleep Sinatra)