Twenty-year-old rapper Stro may be just dropping his first solo LP today (April 21), but he’s far from a new jack. The Brooklynite first rose to national fame after appearing on America’s Got Talent in 2009, performing his single “Stop Looking At My Moms,” which appeared on his The Astronomical Kid EP. Though he’s since released seven mixtapes and two EPs, Stro has gotten more notoriety lately for his appearances in films, such as Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, and his role on FOX’s Red Band Society, which ran for one season.

Not to say that Stro — who has twice smashed Sway’s “5 Fingers Of Death” — hasn’t been gaining heavy traction. Last year’s B.E.S.T B.Y F.A.R was packed with heat, and with a slew of visuals that surfaced around the time of its release, and over the past three months, he’s been teasing fans with new material. Most recently he was on tour overseas, an experience that heavily steered his direction for this new album.

Grade A Frequencies is his official debut project, and — at 9 songs — is a hearty slice of straight up New York Hip Hop at its finest. Included on the LP is “Aura,” which actually dropped last summer. From showing love to some of the culture’s greatest on “Big Ups,” to the ultra jazzy introspective flow of “From Me,” new and old fans will find lots to love.

“2017 I’m done making music,” he says in his promo video for the project. “I’m making frequencies.” He goes on to explain that his latest body of work is a completely different vibe for him. “I’m thinking of the kids of the next generation, and the music that they need to hear. Before I was just rapping to rap, now I’m rapping to change the world.”

Grade A Frequencies is one of two LPs that Stro plans on releasing this year. It’s available for stream, below.


Stro’s Grade A Frequencies tracklist:

1. “Big Ups”
2. “Aura”
3. “The Cool Kid”
4. “I.D.K.Y.” (Feat. Jordan Bratton)
5. “P.S.A. Calm Down” (Feat. Elbee Thrie)
6. “Bryson Filler Interlude”
7. “Brownsville Freestyle”
8. “From Me” (Feat. Marco Mckinnis)
9. “Thank God for That” (Feat. Nathaniel)