West Coast MC/producer Jonwayne puts his lyrical prowess front and center on his highly anticipated sophomore effort and follow-up to Rap Album One with Rap Album Two. The LP dives headfirst into topics like self-imposed isolation and addiction. By the sound of it, the long-haired, bespectacled rapper struggles with inner turmoil as much as the next guy, but he just happens to do it alongside dope beats and thoughtful reflection. The release also comes with a visual for the album highlight, “These Words Are Everything,” an introspective look into what music means to him and his refusal to sell out for the sake of profit. It can be watched above.

“Married to the game but it’s complicated/I know just how it works,” he spits. “If I was smart I’d get hella cake/Like if I through a hook up on this beat/It’d get hella plays/If I just said yes to all these fools I’d get hells paid/If only I could keep my mouth shut, no enemies/But I don’t see the point in knowing truth and not set it free/I can’t both express myself then play the game/If you just can’t handle what I say they don’t say my name.”

While not every beat on the 12-track project is sublime, most of them come close and prove his versatility as both a writer and producer. Stream Rap Album Two and check out the cover art and tracklist below.

HipHopDX | Rap & Hip Hop News | Ad Placeholder


  1. TED Talk
  2. LIVE From The Fuck You
  3. Human Condition
  4. Out Of Sight
  5. The Single
  6. Paper (f. Shango)
  7. City Lights
  8. Rainbow (f. Danny Watts)
  9. Afraid Of Us (f. Zeroh)
  10. Blue Green (f. Low Leaf)
  11. Hills (f. Zeroh)
  12. These Words Are Everything