John Legend follows Solange and Alicia Keys to bring some soulful R&B to the world in the form of his Darkness and Light album.

The LP is made up of 12 tracks with Chance The Rapper appearing on “Penthouse Floor” and Miguel lending his vocals to “Overload.”

“Right By You” is dedicated to Legend’s first child with wife Chrissy Teigen, a daughter named Luna.

HipHopDX | Rap & Hip Hop News | Ad Placeholder



Legend’s last album was 2013’s Love in the Future released through Kanye West’s G.O.O.D. Music and Columbia. The singer also worked on “Glory” with Common for the Selma soundtrack and the song won an Oscar and a Golden Globe.

John Legend’s Darkness and Light album stream, cover art and tracklist are below.

  1. I Know Better
  2. Penthouse Floor (f. Chance the Rapper)
  3. Darkness and Light (f. Brittany Howard)
  4. Overload (f. Miguel)
  5. Love Me Now
  6. What You Do to Me
  7. Surefire
  8. Right By You (for Luna)
  9. Temporarily Painless
  10. How Can I Blame You
  11. Same Old Story
  12. Marching Into the Dark