Kutt Calhoun is slated to release his Kuttin Loose EP July 10, news the Kansas City rapper is announcing exclusively through HipHopDX.

The project is the first from Black Gold Entertainment, the company Kutt Calhoun launched after leaving longtime recording home Strange Music.

Kuttin Loose includes the song “On My Own,” which discusses the reasons he left Tech N9ne’s Strange Music after nearly 15 years with the imprint.

“I stuck around because there was a bigger picture involved, bigger than me, supposedly bigger than Strange, bigger than Tech,” Kutt Calhoun says in a press release. “That keeps you around and that’s motivation to be like, ‘I’m not even going to trip on this. I’m just going to man up and play my position because later on, it’s going to be better.’ I did that for quite sometime to where it came to a point last year to where I felt like if I stayed there, it felt like it was going to continue to be like the way that it was, that I was going to be stagnant, sitting still and not progressing. That’s when I realized it was time for me to make my own move.”

Kutt Calhoun was in Los Angeles recently to shoot the video for Kuttin Loose single “Handz Up [Shut Shit Down],” which examines police brutality.

The Kuttin Loose cover art and tracklist is as follows:

  1. Guillotine
  2. Shooting Gallery
  3. Handz Up [Shut Shit Down]
  4. Fuck With You The Long
  5. On Fleek
  6. State Ov Emerge N See
  7. Regal
  8. On My Own [I Got You]

For additional Kutt Calhoun coverage, watch the following DX Daily:

Please enable Javascript to watch this video