This week’s Top 10 is led by a HipHopDX list highlighting the most memorable name drops from West Coast rapper The Game (including his latest release). On the same day that his MMG labelmate Meek Mill took to Twitter to criticize him for lack of support, Wale released a single that sounds like it may be placed on his upcoming album. Common and Big Sean round out the Top 3 with a leak from the Chicago rapper’s album due out later this month.

New music from G-Unit, French Montana and Kanye West, Meek Mill, and Young Thug help fill out the rest of the list.

HipHopDX Names Game’s Best Name Drops

After calling out the most recent XXL Freshman class on his latest single “Bigger Than Me,” HipHopDX gathered ten of The Game’s most notable name drops for a list. With songs like “Cali Boyz” and “Dreams” featured at the top, our list highlights a career worth of the Cali-bred rapper’s best references.

“His name drops aren’t just limited to rappers; he incorporates actors, athletes, and iconic figures,” DX wrote. Listen to Game’s most recent single below to hear even more.

Wale Releases “The Followers”

On the same day that Wale received flak from fellow MMG artist Meek Mill on social media for a lack of support surrounding his upcoming release, the DMV rapper let loose a new single called “The Followers” addressing his critics. The featured Jerry Seinfeld clip also points to the possibility that the track was culled from his upcoming An Album About Nothing project. While it isn’t necessarily a direct response to Meek Mill’s calling him a “cornball” earlier in the week, the timing may have been more than a coincidence.

“But the anger I express, providing messages, it’s now apparent you forced the kid,” he raps, “And you hate me because you too lazy to decypher what I’m writing and I say to it, / ‘Oh, I never fall off I get my Bill John Wall on.’”

Common Enlists Big Sean For “Diamonds”

Prepping the release of his Nobody’s Smiling album, the latest single features the Chicago rapper’s G.O.O.D. Music labelmate Big Sean on the recurrent hook and final verse. The single is also being offered as an early download from the album for fans who pre-order on iTunes. With Common outspoken about the album serving as a platform to speak on the current state of his native city, he touches on the topic on the latest single.

“Wars about paper, pussy, pride, and ego / Born to fly, call me the bald eagle / Open shows at the Regal for Daddy Kane and Eazy-E though / Boys in the hood is hard like kilos of heroin,” he raps.

In an interview with VladTV earlier in the week, Common detailed the motivation behind the album. “I’m not happy we losing people… people getting shot over things that ain’t even necessary,” he said. “I can’t even act like I know every situation, why it happens, but some of it… it’s become part of… a way of life. People don’t value life as much as we can, as much as we should. When I hear about people dying it’s just like man, what do I have to do to change it.”


This Week’s Top 10

1. The Game – “Top 10 Name Drops On Tracks”

2. Wale – “The Followers”

3. Common f. Big Sean – “Diamonds”

4. G-Unit – “Nah I’m Talkin Bout” Studio Session [Video]

5. Meek Mill f. Lil Snupe & All Steezy – “Summertime”

6. French Montana f. Kanye West – “Money Can Change That (Preview)”

7. Jay Z & Kanye West f. Frank Ocean – “Made In America”

8. Kid Ink f. Chris Brown, French Montana, Yo Gotti, Tyga & Lil Bibby – “Main Chick (Remix)”

9. Arsonal Da Rebel – “0 To 100 (Cassidy Diss)”

10. Rich Homie Quan & Young Thug – “I Got It”

Last Week’s Top 10

RELATED: Game Recalls “The Documentary” Cover Shoot, Celebrates Son’s Birthday