As I bite my tongue, here are some of the nominees for the 2004 Source Awards:

SOLO ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Jay-Z, Ludacris, Lil Flip, Twista, Juvenile

GROUP ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Youngbloodz, Outkast, Ying Yang Twins, Westside Connection, 8Ball & MJG

BREAKTHROUGH ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Chingy, Kanye West, G-Unit, T.I., Young Gunz

SINGLE OF THE YEAR – Solo Artist: “Right Thurr” – Chingy, “On Fire” – Lloyd Banks, “Stand Up” – Ludacris, “Game Over'” – Lil Flip, “Tipsy” – J Kwon

SINGLE OF THE YEAR – GROUP: “Gangsta Nation” – Westside Connection, “Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop” – Young Gunz, “The Way You Move” – Outkast, “Stunt 101” – G Unit, “Lean Back” – Terror Squad

REMIX OF THE YEAR: “Right Thurr” RMX – Chingy feat. Trina & JD, “Hell Yeah” RMX – Dead Prez feat. Jay-Z, “Blow It Out” RMX – Ludacris feat. 50 Cent, “Neva Eva” RMX – Trillville feat. Twista, “Rubberband Man” RMX – T.I. feat. Mack 10, Trick Daddy & Twista

ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Jay-Z – The Black Album (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam), Kanye West – The College Dropout (Roc-A-Fella/Def Jam), Twista – Kamikaze (Atlantic), Ludacris – Chicken & Beer (Def Jam South), G-Unit – Beg For Mercy (G Unit/Interscope)

LYRICIST OF THE YEAR: Jay-Z, Kanye West, Cassidy, Ghostface Killah, T.I.

LIVE PERFORMER OF THE YEAR: Ludacris, Wyclef, Kanye West, Ja Rule, David Banner

PRODUCER OF THE YEAR: Lil Jon, Kanye West, Just Blaze, Jazze Pha, Scott Storch

R&B ARTIST OF THE YEAR – MALE: Usher, R. Kelly, Mario Winans, Carl Thomas, Joe

R&B ARTIST OF THE YEAR – Female: Alicia Keys, Janet Jackson, Beyoncé, Ashanti, Monica

VIDEO OF THE YEAR: “Through The Wire” Kanye West, “Gangsta Nation” Westside Connection, “Untouchable” – Untouchables feat. Lil Jon & Benzino, “It’s All Real” – Pitch Black, “This Way” – Dilated Peoples

INDEPENDENT ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Pete Rock – Soul Survivor II (bbe/rapster), Bleu Davinci – World Is BMF (BMF Records), Freddie Foxxx – Konexion (bbe/rapster), Soulja Slim – Years Later…A Few Months After (Cut Throat/Koch), Saigon – Warning Shots (Sure Shot)

INTERNATIONAL ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Dizzee Rascal -United Kingdom, Tego Calderon – Puerto Rico, IAM – France, Choclair – Canada, Skwatta Kamp – South Africa