Detroit, Michigan emcee/producer Black Milk has been on hiatus from releasing solo full-length albums. Following 2010’s Album Of The Year, the former BR Gunna member worked with Sean Price and Guilty Simpson on Random Axe, as well as Black & Brown with Danny Brown. Having worked on limited edition EPs this year, Black Milk announced his latest solo endeavors on Twitter yesterday (August 5).

Planned for October, Black Milk’s sixth solo album will be called No Poison No Paradise. Since 2006’s Broken Wax, Black Milk has released his albums through Fat Beats Records. A label has not been confirmed for his latest.

In addition to his collaborative projects, Black Milk worked with Skyzoo on A Dream Deferred last year.

(August 6)

UPDATE: According to reps, Black Milk will release No Poison No Paradise on October 15 on Fat Beats/Computer Ugly Records.

“I wanted to focus more on storytelling and having a collection of songs with subject matters that tie into one another,” said Black Milk. “Just like a dream, the scenes are always changing and sometimes feel random and inconsistent.” He continued, “It’s a mixture. Some songs and stories are told from Sonny’s older self, some from his younger days, and some from a third person perspective.”

The No, Poison No Paradise artwork is below:

(August 14)

UPDATE #2: has reported the Black Milk’s tracklist to No Poison No Paradise. The guests include frequent collaborators Dwele, Ab and Mel, as well as The Roots’ emcee Black Thought, and tour-mate Quelle Chris.

1. Interpret Sabotage (feat. Mel)
2. Deion’s House
3. Codes & Cab Fare (feat. Black Thought)
4. Ghetto Demf (feat. Quelle Chris)
5. Sonny Jr. (Dreams) (feat. Robert Glasper & Dwele)
6. Sunday’s Best
7. Monday’s Worst
8. Perfected on Puritan Ave.
9. Dismal
10. Parallels (feat. Ab)
11. X Chords
12. Black Sabbath (feat. Tone Trezure)
13. Money Bags (Paradise)

(August 22)

UPDATE: #3: Black Milk’s No Poison No Paradise is now avaialble as a stream at

RELATED: HipHopDX Release Dates