Freddie Gibbs’ discography can be confusing. However, whether free or retail, mixtape, EP or album, it’s often well-received and critically-touted. The Gary, Indiana emcee announced today that he has secured plans and a month to release his next album, ESGN (Evil Seeds Grow Naturally). The title shares its name with Gibbs’ label, and a column he’s penned at

According to Gibbs, the album is coming in July:

Even prior to his public departure from Young Jeezy’s CTE Records imprint, Gibbs had announced that he recording a full-length album with Oxnard, California producer/emcee Madlib. To be called Cocaine Pinata, the release follows Thuggin’ and Shame, both short EP efforts from 2011 and 2012, respectively. He also went to retail in 2011 with The Lord Giveth, The Lord Taketh Away, an EP produced by Showoff Records’ Statik Selektah.

Besides a release date, details are slim on ESGN. Gibbs’ lone retail solo release was 2010’s Str8 Killa. Also billed as an EP, the 10 eight-track effort was released on physical and digital formats, and scored Gibbs and Decon Records a position on the R&B/Hip-Hop charts. The effort featured Bun B, Jay Rock and The Cool Kids’ Chuck Inglish.

(May 24)

UPDATE: Freddie Gibbs further elaborated today on ESGN. Via Twitter, the Gary, Indiana emcee noted that his upcoming project will release on July 9:

(May 28)

UPDATE #2: Yesterday (May 28), Freddie Gibbs posted an Instagram of the tracklist to ESGN. The image and the tracklist are below:

1. “Lil Sodi”

2. “The Real G Money”

3. “Came Up”

4. “Hundred Thousand” featuring Hit Skrewface and G-Wiz

5. “D.O.A.”

6. “Lay It Down”

7. “Seen A Man Die” featuring Lil Sodi

8. “Have U Seen Her” featuring Hit Skrewface

9. ”Eastside Moonwalker”

10. “F.A.M.E” featuring Daz and Spice-1

11. “Paper”

12. “One Eighty Seven” featuring Problem

13. “The Color Purple”

14. “Certified Live” featuring Jay Rock

15. “Backwoods” featuring D-Edge

16. “Dope In My Styrofoam” featuring G-Wiz and G.I. Fleezy

17. “9mm” featuring G-Wiz and G.I. Fleezy

18. “Lose Control”

19. “Freddie Soprano”

(May 29)

UPDATE #3: Freddie Gibbs has revealed the artwork to his upcoming July 9 album, ESGN (Evil Seeds Grow Naturally):

(June 18)

UPDATE #3: The second Empire Distributed artist/album to do so in the last 24 hours, Freddie Gibbs has decided to release ESGN (Evil Seeds Grow Naturally) over two weeks early. The rapper took to Twitter today, saying “Fuck July 9.”

Yesterday, another Empire project, West Coast Gangsta Sh*t by Daz & WC was also released earlier than planned.

Additional Reporting by Paul Martinez.

RELATED: HipHopDX Release Dates