Oakland underground super group Hieroglyphics will release its third album, The Kitchen, July 16. Sacramento-based DJ and beat-chopping crew The Sleeprockers contributed to Hiero’s third studio album, a project they “mixed and cooked.”

The Kitchen single “Gun Fever” discusses the group’s perspective on gun control, a topic that’s getting a lot of national attention thanks to the high profile shooting in Newtown, Connecticut, among others. “We are not promoting guns or violence,” Hieroglyphics member Tajai said on the group’s website, “but simply expressing our thoughts on the issue and encouraging further dialogue.”

Hieroglyphics consists of Souls of Mischief (Opio, Phesto, A-Plus, Tajai), Del The Funky Homosapien, Pep Love, Casual, Domino and DJ Toure. The members of Hiero have been involved in a number of projects and have collaborated with Jurassic 5, George Clinton, Dilated Peoples, Q-Tip, Xzibit and Gorillaz, among others.

The Kitchen is the follow-up to 2003’s Full Circle. The crew released 3rd Eye Vision in 1998 andalso has various compilations and EPs under its belt. 

The cover art and tracklist for The Kitchen is as follows. 

1. The Kitchen Intro – PROD. Sleeprockers

2.. Livin’ It Up – PROD. Del The Funky Homosapien

3. The Mayor – PROD. Gully Duckets

4. Golden – PROD. Del The Funky Homosapien

5. Gun Fever – PROD. Gully Duckets

6. Indonesia – PROD. Opio

7. wShores Galore – PROD. Opio

8. That Merch – PROD. Unjust

9. Nutrition – PROD. Opio

10. Indonesia Interlude – Sleeprockers edit/PROD. Opio

11. Highway Five – PROD. Opio

12. All As Above So Below – PROD. Opio

13. Nano Salt – PROD. Opio

14. Immortals – PROD. A-Plus

15. Exciting – PROD. Phesto Dee

16. It’s Partly Me – PROD. Opio

17. Passing Fads – PROD. Stephen King

(May 13)

UPDATE:Spin.com has premiered the full album stream of The Hieroglyphics’ The Kitchen, which released today (July 16) on Hiero Emporium.

RELATED: Hieroglyphics’ Pep Love Claims “Gentrification” In Hip Hop, Analyzes Modern Sampling [2012 INTERVIEW]