After previous reports and a video trailer suggesting that J. Cole’s sophomore album would top off 2013 with a January release, the Roc Nation star provided new information moments ago this evening. The North Carolina emcee/producer tweeted that Born Sinner will now release on June 25.

Earlier today, Jay-Z announced that Roc Nation had reached a partnership with Universal Music Group. With J. Cole’s 2011 debut album, Cole World: The Sideline Story released through Roc Nation/Sony, it is unclear at this team if his release will now be within the UMG structure. Throughout the year, Sony/Columbia Records has still sent press releases and materials on the gold-selling sensation.

(April 8)

UPDATE: TheHollywoodReporter is claiming to have spoken with a source close to J. Cole. They are alleging that Born Sinner will now release on June 18. J. Cole’s rep at Sony Records could not confirm or deny the reports. At present, J. Cole’s tweets last month remain his last public mention of the release date.

(May 16)

UPDATE #2: Following last week’s reports, J. Cole recently performed with his Dreamville team in Miami, Florida. In this fan-captured video that was posted at DDotOmen, Cole confirms that Born Sinner is completed at the recording stages and turned into his label. Saying it’ll be released in “four weeks,” it remains unclear whether the sophomore album has a June 18 or June 25 release date.

UPDATE #3: J. Cole has released two versions of the artwork for Born Sinner. One is for standard, the other is deluxe:

UPDATE #4: J. Cole confirmed via Instragram today (May 20) that Born Sinner will release on June 18.

(May 20)

UPDATE #5: Today (June 5), J. Cole has released what is believed to be the Born Sinner tracklist via a Twitpic. The last four songs are credited to Truly Yours 3. J. Cole has indicated that they will release together on the deluxe edition:

The J. Cole Born Sinner tracklist is as follows (Truly Yours 3 songs feature as asterisk):

1. Villuminati
2. Kerney Sermon (Skit)
3. LAnd Of The Snakes
4. Power Trip featuring Miguel
5. Mo Money (Interlude)
6. Trouble
7. Runaway
8. She Knows featuring Amber Coffman
9. Rich Niggaz
10. Where’s Jermaine? (Skit)
11. Forbidden Fruit featuring Kendrick Lamar
12. Chaining Day
13. Ain’t That Some Shit (Interlude)
14. Crooked Smile featuring TLC
15. Let Nas Down
16. Born Sinner featuring James Fauntleroy
*17. Miss America
*18. New York Times featuring 50 Cent & Bas
*19. Is She Gon Pop
*20. Niggaz Know
*21. Sparks Will Fly featuring Jhene Aiko

(June 5)

UPDATE #6: J. Cole’s Born Sinner has been made available for free stream on Spotify before its retail release tomorrow (June 18). Like Action Bronson & Harry Fraud’s Saab Stories stream last week, the function only works for registered Spotify users.

RELATED: HipHopDX Album Release Dates