Houston, Texas-based rapper RiFF RaFF is preparing his studio debut, reportedly titled Neon Icon. The Mad Decent Records artist and former Soulja Boy/S.O.D.M.G affiliate told London, England’s DJ Semtex that the release will feature a high-profile guest-list of stars. 

“[I] got Wiz Khalifa, Mac Miller, A$AP Rocky, YG, Snoop [Dogg], you know I got these big names on [Neon Icon].” RiFF RaFF said in the video interview posted below. “You know when you’re working with somebody [Diplo] like that, I’d rather work with a big producer who works with big artists—Future, Drake.” He concluded, “It’s going to be a monumental album.”

At present, Neon Icon does not have a formal release date. In 2012, RiFF RaFF worked with Kitty, Action Bronson and Lil Debbie. Additionally two street efforts from RiFF RaFF were released last year, Rap Game Bon Jovi and Birth Of An Icon.

(March 11, 2013)


RiFF RaFF has revealed the album title of his upcoming album, NEON iCON.

The album is slated to be released later this year. In July, Diplo spoke about RiFF’s album

“We got some features on this album, but we’re not trying to sell the album like it’s a bunch of rappers you [already] know about,” said Diplo. “RiFF RaFF’s already put out so many mixtapes, so many videos, this album’s kinda like a collection of like ‘Yo, this is the mothafuckin future of music.’ So, that’s what it’s about it. And it’s about him, 100 percent.”

(September 16)


Via Twitter yesterday (October 3), RiFF RaFF announced January 28, 2014 as the release date for his NEON iCON album.

Last month, LA Weekly did a story on the rapper, who explained why the release date for his album has been delayed several times.

“This is gonna be my best work so that’s why it’s taking so long,” RiFF RaFF said. “We wanna make sure that all the songs are the best. It’s not a mixtape. It’s not going to be like my normal stuff that I just put out. [First single] ‘Dolce & Gabbana’ as far as I’m concerned that ain’t going to be on the album. It ain’t good enough for my album.”

(October 4, 2013)

UPDATE #3: RiFF RaFF says his upcoming album NEON iCON album is now set to be released April 29. 

(March 7, 2014) 

UPDATE #4: The cover art and tracklisting of RiFF RAFF’s NEON iCON album has been released, according to illroots.com. The project is slated for a June 24 release.

The cover art and tracklisting are as follows:

1. “Introducing The Icon”

2. “Kokayne”

3. “Wetter Than Tsunami”

4. “Jody 3 Moons (skit)”

5. “Versace Python”

6. “Lava Glaciers” f. Childish Gambino

7. “Tip Toe Wing In My Jawwwdinz”

8. “Maybe You Love Me” f. Mike Posner

9. “Aquaberry Dolphin” f. Mac Miller

10. “The Bloomingdales At Windshire Palace (Skit)”

11. “Time”                                                             

12. “How To Be The Man”                                   

13. “Cool It Down” f. Dirty Projectors’ Amber Coffman

14. “VIP Pass To My Heart”

15. “How To Be The Man” f. Slim Thug & Paul Wall (Houston Remix)

(May 20, 2014)

UPDATE #5: The NEON iCON album is available for stream below:

RELATED:RiFF RaFF – “Rap Game Michelle Kwan” [AUDIO]