Earlier this week, Pusha T revealed that his solo debut on G.O.O.D. Music would be titled My Name is My Name.

In a recent interview with HipHopSince1987, Pusha explained his title choice. “Basically, I was trying to pick a title that embodied who I am as an artist…and I wanted people to understand that Pusha is everything that I really, really am.”

Pusha elaborated on the source of inspiration for his album title. “Actually, it’s a line in ‘Pain’ where I actually say ‘My name is my name.’ And of course, that line comes from Marlo Stanfield in the series ‘The Wire.’ It’s one of the more prominent catch phrases he said during the end of that series.”

“He was just basically saying, ‘I am who I am. This is what I got. I stand on my name. I live this,'” he explained. “And if you know anything about his character, he’s young, brash, amongst a lot of heavyweights. But he didn’t care about any of the past or history. He was like, ‘Man, I’m out here to get my money at all costs. No rules, no regulations. I’m here to compete.’ I just felt like that really embodied my presence in the Rap game.”

(December 1, 2012)

UPDATE: Nearly six months after Pusha T began the publicity campaign for his solo studio debut, My Name Is My Name, the Virginia Beach, Virginia emcee and Clipse co-founder unveiled a release date. Following his appearance on “106 & Park,” where the G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam Records artist announced to release date of July 16, he also tweeted the news to fans.

(April 29)

UPDATED #2: DDotOmen.com reports that today on MTV RapFix, Pusha T confirmed his solo debut, My Name Is My Name will now release on October 8.

UPDATE #3: Pusha T has revealed the cover art for My Name Is My Name. The cover art was announced on Kanye West’s Twitter account and the updates can be found below. 

(August 30)

UPDATE #4: The tracklisting for Pusha T’s My Name Is My Name has been revealed, according to walmart.com. It is as follows:

1. “King Push”

2. “Numbers On The Board”

3. “Sweet Serenade” f. Chris Brown

4. “Hold On” f. Rick Ross

5. “Suicide” f. Ab-Liva

6. “40 Acres” f. The-Dream

7. “No Regrets” f. Jeezy And Kevin Cossom

8. “Let Me Love You” f. Kelly Rowland

9. “Who I Am” f. 2 Chainz & Big Sean

10. “Nosetalgia” f. Kendrick Lamar

11. “Pain” f. Future

12. “S.N.I.T.C.H.” f. Pharrell

(September 14)

UPDATE #5: My Name Is My Name snippets have been released, as per 2DopeBoyz.com.  

(September 21)

UPDATE #6: My Name Is My Name is available for stream at myspace.com

RELATED: HipHopDX Release Dates