After releasing a few singles over the past month, LL Cool J has officially announced the release date for his thirteenth studio album.

Taking to MySpace, the veteran emcee revealed that the project is slated to drop on February 12, 2013. It is unclear on which label the album will release.

He also discussed the LP during an appearance on Craig Ferguson. “I’m doing music right now. I have a song called ‘Take It’ that’s out there right now,” he said. “I’m working on a new album. I think I’m going to put a record out. I haven’t put one out in five years. So I’m putting one out in February.”

Watch the interview below (57th Ave via HHNM).

[November 9]

UPDATE: LL Cool J has revealed the tracklist and cover art for his upcoming album Authentic Hip-Hop. Check the cover art below.


1. Something About U (FTW)
2. Where Ya At (BOSS)
3. Take It (feat. Joe)
4. Closer (feat. Monica)
5. Too Late
6. New Love
7. Dream With Me
8. Girl So Bad
9. Ratchet
10. Bartender Please
11. Bath Salt
12. Getting Paper
13. Jump On It
14. Hell Yeah
15. Whaddup

[November 20]

UPDATE: LL Cool J has renamed his upcoming album Authentic, and has pushed back the album from February 12th to May 7th. Check the new cover art below, and expect a new tracklist soon (via HHNM).


[February 8]

UPDATE #3: According to a press release, LL Cool J has pushed up the release date for his upcoming album Authentic, now slated to drop on April 30th. HipHopDX will keep you updated as more information comes to light.

RELATED: LL Cool J Broke Burgular’s Nose, Ribs & Jaw During This Week’s Detainment