Talib Kweli is putting the wheels in motion for his upcoming album Prisoner of Consciousness. During an interview with Sermon’s Domain, the Brooklyn, New York rapper revealed that his LP is slated to drop in October and that guests including RZA, Curren$y, Miguel, Kendrick Lamar and Busta Rhymes are expected to make the final cut.

“Shit, let’s see, we got Miguel and Melanie [Fiona] and Kendrick and Curren$y, my man Rubix, Sara Jorge, Maino, Busta Rhymes, RZA… This album has more features than any album I’ve ever put out, but I don’t want that to take away from the fact that this is my album. I’ve always been into features, I’ve always been into collaborations – with Mos Def, with Hi-Tek, with Madlib, with Res – I always do a new group. But this album, I really wanted to… Eardrum had a lot of features too, but that had a lot more songs on it than this album.

Kweli, who is also prepping the release of his mixtape Attack the Block, said that Prisoner of Consciousness will convey a shift in the way that he approaches writing. “Maybe experimenting might have been the wrong word for me to use, but just a different direction. Songs that are more focused on life and what people are going through, and dealing with the social conditions in that way as opposed to speaking directly to the social conditions. That’s what I’m really trying to do with this album.”

(July 30)

UPDATE: The tracklist for Talib Kweli’s Prisoner Of Consciousness is as follows:

1.     Human Mic
2.     Prisoner Of Conscious
3.     Ready Set Go featuring Melanie Fiona
4.     Upper Echelon
5.     Letter From The Government
6.     High Life featuring Rubix; Bajah
7.     Kilo’s of Love
8.     Before He Walked featuring Nelly
9.     Come featuring Miguel
10.     Push Thru featuring Curren$y (Currensy); Kendrick Lamar; Glen Reynolds
11.     Hold It Now
12.     Delicate Flowers
13.     Hamster Wheel
14.     Rocket Ships featuring Busta Rhymes
15.     Favela Love featuring Seu Jorge
16.     Can’t Barely Breathe featuring Amber Strother

(September 15, 2012)

UPDATE #2: Talib Kweli took to Twitter to reveal that his new album Prisoner of Consciousness will release on November 20.

[October 1]

UPDATE #3: Talib Kweli has revealed the cover art for his upcoming album Prisoner of Consciousness, scheduled to drop on April 23. Check the artwork below (via DDot Omen).

(January 22)

UPDATE #4: According to 2DopeBoyz.com, Talib Kweli’s Prisoner Of Conscious has delayed two weeks, to May 7. Additionally, the Brooklyn, New York emcee has unveiled a new tracklist to his album than previously reported. The song “Kilos Of Love” is no longer included, as titled:

1. Intro
2. Human Mic
3. Turnt Up
4. Come Here (feat. Miguel)
5. High Life (feat. Rubix and Bajah)
6. Ready Set Go (feat. Melanie Fiona)
7. Hold It Now
8. Push Thru (feat. Curren$y, Kendrick Lamar and Glen “Grey” Reynolds)
9. Hamster Wheel
10. Delicate Flowers
11. Rocketships (feat. Busta Rhymes)
12. Before He Walked (feat. Nelly and Abby Dobson)
13. Upper Echelon
14. Favela Love (feat. Seu Jorge)
15. Only Gets Better (feat. Marsha Ambrosius)

(April 14)

UPDATE #5: Billboard.com has premiered the Talib Kweli Prisoner Of Conscious album stream:

RELATED: Talib Kweli Announces Attack The Block Mixtape