This week, some surprise mixtapes dropped, while new ones were announced with no real release dates attached. Seems like nowadays, mixtapes are dropping when rappers feel like it, not necessarily on a set schedule. Take Young Jeezy, whose TM 103 precursor tape “The Real Is Back 2” dropped randomly late Friday night/Saturday morning (September 2nd). CyHi Da Prynce dropped a follow-up to his “Royal Flush” mixtape titled “Jack Of All Trades.” Some free albums hit the ground running too, as Diamond District’s Uptown XO dropped “Monumental II” along with The-Dream’s “1977” mixtape.

This week, DJ Holiday will deliver “Holiday Season Vol. 4” and Jay Sean will deliver “The Mistress” as well. Some cuts have leaked, including the title track . Other mixtape announcements have been made, as Jadakiss plans to drop “Top 5 Dead Or Alive.” A track named “Grind” set the internet on fire last week, announcing the project, which was originally supposed to be the title of Kiss’ new album. Asher Roth plans to drop a new mixtape called “Paps and Jazz” in anticipation of his sophomore album Is This Too Orange? formerly titled The Spaghetti Tree. In other news, Waka Flocka Flame plans to drop Vol. 3 of his “Lebron Flocka James” series. There’s a lot to look forward to, and it can arrive at any minute.


Late Pass

Young Jeezy – “The Real Is Back 2”

Terius Nash (The-Dream) – “1977 Mixtape”

Lil B – “I Forgive You”

Plies – “Aristotle”

Uptown XO – “Monumental II”

Soulja Boy – “The Last Crown”

CyHi Da Prynce – “Jack Of All Trades”

Various – “Bad Boy: The Preview”

Exile – “Intro to the Outro”

Killa Kyleon – “Candy Paint N’ Texas Plates”


September 5

DJ Holiday – “Holiday Season Vol. 4”


September 6

Jay Sean – “The Mistress”


September 11

Benzino – “Caezar”

Future – “Streetz Calling”


September 12

J-Hood – “Da 2nd Komin”



Jadakiss – “Top 5 Dead Or Alive”

Asher Roth – “Paps & Jazz”

Pusha T – “Long Live the ‘Caine”

Waka Flocka Flame – “Lebron Flocka James”

Chevy Woods – “The Cookout”

Styles P – “The World’s Most Hardest MC”

JD Era – “No Handouts”

Young Buck – “Bond Money”

Ne-Yo – “101 (Hosted by Kevin Hart)”

Drag-On – “The Crazies: Part 3”

Melanie Fiona – “The MF”

Triple C’s – “Money Burning Motherfucker”

French Montana, Three 6 Mafia & Project Pat – “Cocaine Mafia”

Zaytoven – “Zaytown 3”

Truck North and The 3rd – “Reconstruction”

Wale – Untitled

Raekwon – Untitled

Ludacris – Untitled

B.o.B. – Untitled

Young Chris x Cardiak – Untitled

DJ Holiday – “Holiday Season Vol. 4”

SL Jones – “The Number 23: Editor’s Cut”

Jackie Chain x Nick Catchdubs – “After Hours”

DJ Spinatik – “Street Runnaz 60”

Freddie Gibbs – “A Cold Day In Hell”

Maffew Ragazino – “Rare Gems: The Collection Pt. 2”

Kingpen Slim – “Pass The Roc”

Ess Vee – “The Veelude”

Lil Chuckee – Twap Or Die (hosted by DJ Smallz & DJ Infamous)

DJ Smallz – Southern Smoke Radio 5 (hosted by Dorrough)

Cam’ron – “Family Ties Vol.1”

DJ Smallz – Southern Smoke Radio R&B 5 (hosted by Verse Simmonds)