The nominations for the 2011 Polaris Music Prize were announced earlier today at a press conference in Toronto, Canada. 

Among the 40 nominees, The Weeknd’s House of Balloons mixtape was honored with a nod, while Eternia & MoSS’s At Last also made the cut. Additional albums included in the list include Neil Young’s Le Noise, Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs, D-Sisive’s Jonestown 2: Jimmy Go Bye Bye and Buck 65’s 20 Odd Years.

The Polaris Music Prize honors albums from Canadian artists. The winner will be announced at the September 19th Gala at the Masonic Temple, and will receive $30,000 CAD.

[June 16]

UPDATE: The Weeknd’s House of Balloons mixtape has been included on the Polaris Short List, which narrows down the 40 nominees to 10. Additional short list nominees include Austra’s Feel It Break, Braids’ Native Speaker, Destroyer’s Kaputt, Galaxie’s Tigre et diesel, Hey Rosetta!’s Seeds, Colin Stetson’s New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges, Timber Timbre’s Creep On Creepin’ On and Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs.

RELATED: Drake Enlists Rick Ross, The Weeknd For OVO Festival 2011