After splitting from Universal in January, Chamillionaire is embracing a return to independence with the digital release of Major Pain 1.5. In lieu of his shelved Venom album, the tech savvy Houston-based rapper has been releasing free digital offerings such as his recent batch of Playlist Poison tracks. On April 18, Cham is offering another free digital album entitled Major Pain 1.5.

Taking an approach similar to Radiohead a few years ago, fans will be offered the option of paying for a physical copy of the album. However, this is not a “name your own price” affair, as interested parties will have to pay $12. In return, the first 500 people to purchase the album get signed copies, while the remaining 500 still get a physical copy. Chamillionaire’s digital expertise led major labels such as Universal to initially seek him out. And he was rewarded for his early adoption of the digital realm in 2006 by having the most downloaded ringtone to date at the time. Ringtones of his song “Ridin’” were downloaded over 3 million times, usually at $.99 each.

“I promised that once I got out my label situation I was gonna give you more material and that’s’ what I’m gonna do,” Chamillionaire wrote on his website. “Almost everyone knows Venom is not coming out anymore, but Major Pain 1.5, Major Pain 2, and The Playlist Poison album will. Major Pain 1.5 will be the first release of mixtape material that will lead up to a real Playlist Poison album release. All the info about The Playlist Poison album will be inside Major Pain 1.5 when you get it April 18. I’ll release more Playlist Poison tracks leading up to the full album, but just know that the album will be A FULL BODY OF NEW PLAYLIST POISON MATERIAL. Nothing but quality all the way through. I know its been a rough road but just know that I’ve had all my REAL fans in mind during every decision that I have made and now we can finally get back on track. Looking forward to the future. Salute.”

(March 4)

UPDATE: Chamillionaire’s Major Pain 1.5 is now available here (listen to Major Pain 1.5 )

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Already Dead Intro.
2. War To Your Door.
3. Slow City Don
4. Slow it Down
5. Next Flight Up
6. Never Come Down BREAK***
7. This My World Feat. Big K.R.I.T. (Produced by VMAN Productions)
8. King Me
9. Chandelier Ceiling (Produced By Big. KRIT)
10 Livin Better Now
11.Gotta Be The Baddest
12. Naked Man Skit (Roy Wood Jr)
13. When Ya On Feat. Nipsey Hussle (Produced by Andrew Dawson)
14. Think About it.
15. My Toy Soldier
16. Stay Screwed N Chopped
17. Forever Be A King Break.
18. Tone For Life (Famous)
19. Wake up Outro.