When several solo artists announce they’re forming a supergroup you have to take it with a grain of salt. So few of these projects ever get past one or two songs. Random Axe, a group consisting of Black Milk, Sean Price and Guilty Simpson, looked to be one of those groups.

In late 2008 Black Milk told DX the trio would drop in the album in early 2009, and two years later the album still isn’t out. Progress was made however, in mid 2009 the group signed with Duck Down Records. Now it looks like fans will be treated to the album soon. Black Milk took to Twitter yesterday and announced the album was complete and mastered. 

Finally finish mastering “Random Axe” is done http://plixi.com/p/70443433less than a minute ago via Echofon

The Detroit producer/emcee even posted a screenshot of the tracklist, consisting of 15 tracks including the 2009 song “Monster Babies

No word on an official release date for the album yet, HipHopDX will keep you posted.

(January 17)

UPDATE: While performing last week in Boston, Black Milk spoke to TheRestlessMind and broke the news that Random Axe will be dropping in May. No exact day has been provided by Duck Down yet. As it stands now, Random Axe will join Jadakiss and Jay Rock amongst the most anticipated releases of the month.

(February 23)

UPDATE #2: Last week, Duck Down Records released a word-scramble that revealed that Black Milk, Sean Price and Guilty Simpson’s Random Axe will release on June 14, 2010.

(March 28)

UPDATE #3: Duck Down Records has confirmed the tracklisting for Random Axe by Sean Price, Black Milk and Guilty Simpson as follows:

1) Zoo Drugs 

2) Random Call 

3) Black Ops feat. Fat Ray 

4) Chewbacca feat. Roc Marciano

5) The Hex 

6) Understand This 

7) Everybody, Nobody, Somebody 

8) Jahphy Joe feat. Melanie Rutherford & Danny Brown

9) The Karate Kid

10) Never Back Down

11) Monster Babies 

12) Shirley C feat. Fatt Father

13) Another One feat. Rock & Trick Trick

14) 4 In The Box

15) Outro Smoutro