Minneapolis, Minnesota’s Sims will release Bad Time Zoo on February 15, 2011 through Doomtree Records. The member of the group of the same name, has his second solo album produced entirely by Lazerbeak. As was the case with bandmate P.O.S.’ Never Better, the CD version of album boasts unique packaging includes an origami-style insert with cuttable/foldable sheets of paper for fans to create their own animals.

The tracklisting to Bad Time Zoo is as follows:

1. Future Shock
2. Burn It Down
3. Bad Time Zoo
4. Too Much
5. One Dimensional Man
6. In My Sleep
7. When It Rolls In
8. Good Times
9. LMG
10. The Veldt
11. Weight
12. Radio Opaque
13. Sink or Syncopate
14. Hey You

In other news, New York City’s Webster Hall will play host to Rap Rocks. The January 6, 2011 event, sponsored by I AM PR Agency, will feature DXnext alumni David E. Beats (and The Whitehouse Band) and Homeboy Sandman. Tickets are available at the door, and in advance here.

Lastly, legendary saxophonist Tom Scott is best known among Hip Hop fans for creating the lick used by Pete Rock on “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.).” The 1967 song, “Today,” appeared on the Impulse Records album, Honeysuckle Breeze by Tom Scott with The California Dreamers.

The extremely rare and out of print album has returned to CD, thanks to a remastering effort from Boston’s Get On Down Records. The limited edition re-release is available online now.