October 5th marks the date that Rap-A-Lot Records/Fontana will unleash Pimp C’s only solo album – said the maker himself, The Naked Soul of Sweet Jones to the world. While Pimp C had various mixtape cuts and freestyles featuring his half of the UGK sound, Sweet Jones will be the first time that an entire album will be dedicated solely to the legendary UGK producer/emcee. HipHopDX was fortunate enough to listen to The Naked Soul of Sweet Jones prior to its October 5th release. The album features a variety of talent, with guest spots including Drake, Young Jeezy, Rick Ross, Slim Thug, Chamillionaire and many others.

Pimp C’s partner in rhyme Bun B is only present on three tracks: “What Up ?” with Drake, “Dickies” with Young Jeezy, and “Go 2 War” with J-Dawg. David Banner brings his best beats forward, producing the Rick Ross and Slim Thug assisted track “Midnight ” (previously titled “Midnight Hoes”). While much of the album was pieced together with verses, as Pimp C constantly recorded, this album was an effort Pimp had been working hard on prior to his accidental death on December 4, 2007. Expect Pimp C’s abstract perverse antics backed by solid production and an A-List cast. UGK fans couldn’t expect more from the posthumous release of one of Hip-Hop’s legends.

Official tracklist and liner notes for The Naked Soul of Sweet Jones:

1. Down 4 Mine (produced by Cory Mo / concept by Scarface)

2. What Up? f. Drake & Bun B (produced by Boi-1da)

3. Love 2 Ball f. Chamillionaire (produced by Steve Below)

4. Fly Lady f. Jazze Pha (produced by Jazze Pha)

5. Since the ’90s f. Gator Man & E40 (produced by Big E)

6. Dickies f. Bun B & Young Jeezy (produced by DJ B-Do)

7. Made 4 f. Too $hort (produced by Big E)

8. Midnight f. Rick Ross & Slim Thug (produced by David Banner)

9. Believe In Me f. Ivory P., Cory Mo, Hezeleo, BankRoll Jones, Bub & Da Underdawgz (produced by Cory Mo)

10. Hit the Parking Lot f. Webbie & Lil’ Boosie (produced by Mouse)

11. Colors f. Da Underdawgz (produced by DJ B-Do)

12. Go 2 War f. Bun B & J-Dawg (produced by Steve Below)

13. Massacre (produced by VMan Productions)

Purchase Music by Pimp C