In the wake of N.W.A. and Above The Law’s street raps, Ruthless Records found a cross-over star in Michel’le. The songstress’ self-titled 1989 debut, produced by Dr. Dre and DJ Yella. The former background singer for Dre and DJ Yella in World Class Wreckin’ Cru (and mother to one of Dre’s children) would move with her then-boyfriend to start Death Row Records.

A decade later, Michel’le remained on the label after Dre’s 1996 departure, to release her 1998 album Hung Jury. During later boyfriend, Suge Knight’s incarceration, Michel’le was at one time, said to be running the label. The singer also contributed to a number of the notorious label’s soundtracks and compilations.

Twelve years later, it has been announced that Michel’le is at work on new music. She has launched her website,, and released a new single “Freedom Two Love,” available on digital retailers.

In other news, La Coka Nostra/Special Teamz’ emcee Slaine has announced his upcoming official debut album,  A World With No Skies. To be released on the Kottonmouth Kings’ Suburban Noize imprint, the album features Rap peers such as B-Real, Vinnie Paz, as well as LCN brethren Ill Bill and Everlast.

With previous material mostly self-released, Slaine emphasized that this is his proper debut in a statement, “Even though I started my career as a solo artist by hustling my ‘The White Man is the Devil’ mixtapes, I think people are more familiar with me from Special Teamz and La Coka Nostra,” commented Slaine. “With this album I set out to create a soundscape that brings you into my world as an individual which is a fucked up place to be. It is hard, dark and aggressive from the beats to the lyrics, and a deeply personal trip through my life and the things that made me who I am today. A ‘World With No Skies’ is a look into my psyche and a vision of my dreams, nightmares, and realities.”

Earlier this year, Slaine made headlines for banning suburban Boston rapper Sam Adams from the city, after Adams declared his charting digital debut, Boston’s Boy.

A World With No Skies is planned to release on October 26. (August 28)

UPDATE: The tracklisting to Slaine’s A World With No Skies is as follows:

1. A World With No Skies
2. Voices of Apocalypse
3. 99 Bottles
4. When I Shoot You
5. Black Horses
6. Night After Night (prod. Statik Selektah)
7. Crillionaires f. Q Unique & Ill Bill)
8. The American Way (prod. Statik Selektah)
9. Landscapes f. Vinnie Paz & Reef the Lost Cauze
10. Mistaken Identity (prod. Statik Selektah)
11. Broken f. V-Nuxx & Cyrus Deshield
12. Till the Day That We Die
13. Crazy f B-Real & Jaysaun
14. I Aint Done
15. Insomnia
16. Body of Christ
17. Ghosts
18. The Last Song f Everlast