Street Sweeper Social Club, a group formed by Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello and The Coup’s Boots Riley, are gearing up the release The Ghetto Blaster EP. The EP is set to come out August 10 and it is the follow up to their self titled debut, which came out last year.

Their first single is a cover of M.I.A’s successful “Paper Planes,” which was also sampled by “Swagga Like Us,” which featured Kanye West, T.I., Jay-Z and Lil Wayne

Tom Morello spoke on the new EP in a press release, saying that they are shooting for an interesting combination of groups.

“On The Ghetto Blaster EP we were shooting for a combo of the first Clash record and the Ohio Players greatest hits, interwoven with tractor trailer size riffs of course. This record definitely has more of a ‘band’ feel than the first, and Boots’ lyrics and delivery have never been sharper.”

Earlier in the year, Boots spoke to HipHopDX about what fans can expect from this EP.

“We got a new EP that’s going to come out called The Ghetto Blaster EP. [You can expect] hard, hard, hard music and some raw as lyrics on top.”

The tracklist for the album and a list of shows is below.


The Ghetto Blaster EP Track listing

1. Ghetto Blaster
2. Everythang
3. Paper Planes (M.I.A. cover)
4. The New Fuck You
5. Scars
6. Mama Said Knock You Out (LL Cool J cover)
7. Promenade (Guitar Fury Remix)

Tour Dates

8/10 – Vans Warped Tour – San Diego, CA    
8/21 – Rock The Bells  – NOS Events Center – Los Angeles, CA
8/22 – Rock The Bells – Shoreline Amphitheatre – San Francisco, CA

8/28 – Rock The Bells – Governors Island – New York, NY

8/29 – Rock The Bells – Merriweather Post Pavilion – Washington, DC

10/29-31 – Voodoo Festival – New Orleans, LA