Rapper Skyzoo and producer !llmind have joined forces yet again for the full length LP Live From The Tape Deck.

According to Skyzoo, listeners can expect a combination of “dopes beats and rhymes” for his upcoming project with Illmind.

“There won’t be any deep undertones or personal records like The Salvation; just dope beats and rhymes that’s better than everything else out…The reason it’s called Live From The Tape Deck is because when labels made cassette tapes, it just so happens that was when records were dope,” said Skyzoo in a statement. “Once the option of buying a cassette in a store was gone, that’s when things changed and music got whack.”

Skyzoo and !llmind most recently teamed up for “Dear Whoever” a track on Skyzoo’s debut album The Salvation.

“You know it’s not going to be some typical shit — it’s going to be honest,” Illmind explained in a statement. “Not throwback. Not boom bap. It’s going to be some 2010 shit with one of the best emcees in the game.”

Live From The Tape Deck will be released this fall October 5 on Duck Down Music. (May 27)


In a statement released today, !llmind spoke about his intended sound on Live From The Tape Deck to match Skyzoo’s vision. “[I] wanted to keep the soundscape warm and ‘analog’ sounding, just like how two-inch tapes used to sound. Most of the keyboard and synth sounds I used were from analog synths made in the late ’80s. Combined this with using my ASR-10, I was able to capture that feeling, but with a slightly updated feel. I think  our debut record, ‘Frisbees’ was a cool way, sonically, to introduce the sound I was going for.” 

The tracklisting is as follows:

1) Digital Analog
2) Frisbees
3) The Burn Notice (feat. Sean Price & Rock of Heltah Skeltah)
4) Speakers On Blast
5) #Allabouthat
6) Barrel Brothers (feat. Torae)
7) The Winner’s Circle
8) Krylon
9) Kitchen Table
10) The Now Or Never (feat. Styles P. & Buckshot)
11) Understanding Riley (feat. Rhymefest)
12) Langston’s Pen