Rockie Fresh - Electric Highway (Mixtape Review)

HipHopDX Editor's Rating:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Average User Rating:


9 people have voted.

1 is the most popular ranking.

3 people gave it a perfect five.

Cast your vote »

"Electric Highway" rarely loses sight of what Rockie Fresh sets out to achieve.

Aside from a handful of appearances on Rick Ross’ underwhelming mixtape The Black Bar Mitzvah, Maybach Music Groups’ latest addition Rockie Fresh was relatively quiet after signing day. With Driving 88 becoming his calling card, the Chicago-native took this time to season his abilities, and Electric Highway is a clear reflection of this as it rarely loses sight of what Rockie sets out to achieve.

As opposed to the fiery bark of label mate Meek Mill, the 21-year-old rapper moves with a more mild, if sometimes monotonous delivery, but it’s one that stays consistent throughout the project. In that regard, whether he’s flipping metaphors on “Superman OG” or chin checking the competition with “Barrell Of A Gun” ("A lot of these rappers be out here wilin’ / Out here talking all violent, I prefer to move silent"), Rockie sounds as composed as a vet. That in turn translates on his performance for “Life Long,” where pitted between Rozay and rhyme slinger Nipsey Hussle, he still shines through.

Along with Rockie’s steady approach, the real winner here is producer and ‘Windy City’ brethren The Gift who handles his role with exceptional poise. “Thick Bitch (Hit My Jack)” is an eccentric backdrop locked in cruise control as Rockie follows along with slick rhymes. With shades of reggae and synth-blaps, as well as Curren$y appropriately in the passengers seat, “Roll Up Right Now” is definitive session music sponsored by RAW.  “Father Forgive ‘Em” shows he can also execute production with urgency, though Rockie doesn’t quite hold up his end. House money says The Gift will acquire some new clients off of his work here.

While sticking to the theme, the latter third of Electric Highway drags as a new layer of experimentation produces mixed results. “Ride Slow” and “I’m Ready” incorporate an auto-tune pulse (think Kanye West a la 2008) that is more burdensome than impassioned. Then on “Lights Glow,” Rockie grazes through Kid Cudi territory with melodic musings of life. The record itself isn’t that bad, but you can also tell he hasn’t fully developed a command for this particular style. On the opposite spectrum, “I’m Wit It” languishes with Rockie attempting to sound tough over a trap rap loop. A trimming of the fat, so to speak, would have come in handy here.

With a slow burn, Electric Highway is a solid mixtape that will have listeners reaching back months down the road to discover a new sense of appreciation for it. Rockie Fresh may not possess Wale’s lyrical prowess, nor the ferociously robust demeanor that would appease a diehard Ross fan, but his presence brings a new wrinkle to the team that will benefit them in the long run.

DX Consensus: "EP-worthy"

Listen to Electric Highway by Rockie Fresh


  • FlatLine aka Simba

    A very diversely-structured yet free-flowing musical piece with a distinct sound, almost borrowing from rock n roll. Production is risky but still on point. Very different.

  • tristan

    good, i like the artwork the most, ok lyrics, some good 3 or 4 stars

  • JoshRichRapsOfficial

    You really hit the nail on the head with this one. Still though the dude has a flow that is easy to vibe with. Definitely makes him replayable.

  • Rockie Fresh - On My Level tracklist

    1. Presenting... The Introduction (produced by The Gift) 2. Celebration (produced by The Gift) 3. One Shot (feat. Jessie Ware) (produced by Jeff Bhasker) 4. Goin' In (feat. Rick Ross) (produced by Hit-Boy) 5. Seeds (produced by The Gift) 6. Heaven (produced by The Gift) 7. Electric Concerto (feat. Wale and Lunice) (produced by Lunice) 8. Jelly Beans (produced by Lunice) 9. Cool Runnings (feat. Meek Mill) (produced by Hit-Boy) 10. Street One (produced by Jahlil Beats) 11. On My Level (feat. Future, A$AP Rocky and Rick Ross) (produced by Hit-Boy) 12. Higher (feat. Wiz Khalifa and Rick Ross) (produced by The Gift) 13. Stuntin' (feat. Theophilius London) (produced by The Gift) 14. Highway Cruisin' Music (feat. Nas and Marsha Ambrosius) (produced by Noah "40" Shebib)

  • JRich

    I thought it was pretty good, a lot of good beats. His actual rapping can get boring when there isn't really anything that makes him stand out on his own. But I listened to his old shit and he's definitely on the right track.

  • Anonymous

    Why the low ratings? Solid tape.

  • 777

    Pretty good. A little hit-and-miss, though more hits than misses. 4/5

  • Anonymous

    Dope mixtape. Rockie the best on MMG imo

  • @TheCrxsh

    On the contrary I feel like Rockie is slowly losing me as a fan, I was a huge supporter when The Otherside came out during his start. The production was fresh and original (& for the most part they still are very unique)but his lyrical content set a new standard for indie rap artists, over time I feel like his lyrics have been dumbed down significantly, its a very noticeable difference that I don't like. If you took away the fancy production, him alone, at this point in time, is not doing anything extraordinary..

  • Anonymous

    Poor mans Currensy from the burbs