DJ JS-1 - Ground Original 2: No Sell Out

HipHopDX Editor's Rating:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Average User Rating:


12 people have voted.

5 is the most popular ranking.

5 people gave it a perfect five.

Cast your vote »

It's veteran's day on this brilliant blend of surprising collaborations and scratch-based boom-bap, with O.C., Organized Konfusion, Ultramagnetic, Canibus and KRS-One stealing shows.

Representing the College Point neighborhood of Queens, DJ JS-1's moniker stems from his original graffiti name JERMS. Doubling as Rahzel's [click to read] deejay, JS-1 and the former The Roots member have performed together since 1999 as the world's only two-man beatbox-deejay group. Similar to his previous album Audio Technician, Ground Original 2: No Sell Out is solely produced by DJ JS-1. The Rocksteady Crew member's fourth album features more artists than his previous efforts, with over 40 rappers representing coast-to-coast as well as various eras. Laced with the New York native's beats and scratch hooks, the project features both long overdue and groundbreaking collaborations.

Much-like vintage Funkmaster Flex mixtape-albums, or even DJ Khaled's debut, JS-1 likes to put interesting rappers together in his songs - whether nostalgic, thematic or signs of armistice. Over a decade after the beef between KRS-One [click to read] and Canibus [click to read] was first started, the two lyricists share the microphone on "Clear N' Present Danger."