50 Cent - War Angel LP

HipHopDX Editor's Rating:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3.5
  • 5

Average User Rating:


2 people have voted.

5 is the most popular ranking.

2 people gave it a perfect five.

Cast your vote »

If War Angel is a preview to what the Queens emcee has in store for Before I Self Destruct, G-Unit fans around the world have something to look forward to come autumn

In the last decade, Queens rapper 50 Cent [click to read] has gone from a street hustler to a multi-faceted businessmen who lives on the power of the dollar. This conversion, while obviously great for his financial status, has arguably turned him into an artist who feeds off of publicity more than the quality of his music. With his recent viral video beef with Rick Ross, some followers felt it was a display of Fifty's stagnant Rap career. Releasing his new street album, War Angel LP [click to download], just days ago and without promotion or price, 50 Cent is out to prove to his fans that he can still bring it, just as he did seven years ago with Guess Who's Back?

Right from the start, 50 makes his presence felt on the violently-charged record "I Line Niggas." Backed by booming drums and a grimy intuition, Fifty rips on about slaying opponents while giving Kanye West a small jab when he raps, "Goons don't use Auto-Tune, just Yeezy." Keeping with his gun-toting theme, Fifty readies for lyrical combat with "C.R.E.A.M. 2009." Unabashed, the Queens rapper colorfully displays his street life past as he rhymes, "The shooting gonna start right after the shit talkin' / I was selling crack while Mike was moon walkin.'" His strongest performance on War Angel becomes evident on "Better Come On Your A Game." Fueled by a beat that other rappers would salivate over, Curtis comes correct with a verse-hook combo that's reminiscent of his Get Rich Or Die Trying [click to read] days.